Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Entering msinfo32 at 'Run...' should bring up the 'System Information Tool' as well should the shortcut in 'Accessories' or even directly running the executable from the system 'dll cache' directory, yet I get the XP Pro 'Help & Support' window.

    What gives? Am I missing something here? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Works for me, what have you done to your system?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Hi, Dave ~

    Nothing. Apparently there are others with which the experience is the same.

    I wrote to Kelly that the keys laid out still lead to the 'msinfo32.exe' file that still open the XP Pro 'Help & Support' window rather than the 'System Information Tool.' Same goes for the executable in the system 'dll cache' directory.

    'winmsd' & 'msinfo32' both open the same 'Help & Support' window - this occurs on all the machines now. Is this a MS faux pas? <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    This is interesting. Read the msn thread. Check Administrative Tools>Services and make sure that your WMI (Windows Management Instrumentation) is set to started and automatic-- probably is (I think its a default-- but you know well that all kinds of factors can change settings in Windows). This has to be on for msinfo32 to collect information. 323209 msninfo32.exe Generates a Can't Collect Information Error Message is different from an msinfo32 command starting Help and Support, but it does make the point that if WMI isn't started, msinfo32 won't collect.

    1) Also did you see thread 1 message 5:
    _____________________________
    "I have used the command line, msinfo32 /categories +all -loadedmodules
    this works ok."
    _____________________________

    2) And in this thread running "sfc /scannow"
    fixed the probem. You might try that.

    You might also put "msinfo32" in the search of Help and Support and pull up its switches and try some from the dos prompt including "msinfo /show categories" to see if the switches are working. Don't know that it makes a difference, probably not, but you can try "msinfo.exe" in the run box.

    SMBP

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    I understand this is a known problem from threads on web. Where did you get the connnection to the PC Health file? And did you try putting the command Kelly and one of the threads I linked suggest typing into the run box: "msinfo32/categories +all -loadmodules" no quotes space between categories/+all and between all and -loadmodules? This worked for an msn thread with your same problem. It also brings up system information in my run box.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Additionally, 319101: Error Message: WMI Might Be Corrupted further suggests corruption in WMI and recreating the files in its system root folder may fix msinfo32. From Kelly's Korner misinfo:

    <font color=448800>_____________________________________ _____</font color=448800>
    Can't Open Msinfo32

    Checkpoints: Go to Start/Run and type in: winmsd and/or click here: hcp://system/sysinfo/sysInfoLaunch.htm or
    Go to Start/Run and type in: msinfo32 /categories +all -loadedmodules (exactly as written)

    If the last one worked for you, and you prefer to use a batch file, download it from here ,save and run from your Desktop. Manual settings: Create a batch file containing the following lines:

    C:
    cd C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSInfo
    msinfo32 /categories +all -loadedmodules

    Verify your settings here: Start/Run/Regedit

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftShared ToolsMSInfo
    Path value = C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSInfomsinfo32.exe

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindowsCurrentV ersionApp Pathsmsinfo32.exe

    Default value = C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSInfoMSInfo32.exe
    Path value = C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSInfo

    Fix for Help and Support and System Information
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/scripts_d...xwinxphelp.htm

    Error Message: Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) Might Be Corrupted (Unable to view System Information (MSinfo32) http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;319101

    To correct this error: Go to Start/Run/CMD and type in: net stop winmgmt. Then delete
    the %windir&system32wbemrepository directory. Once done go back to Start/Run/CMD and type in: net start winmgmt

    Or:

    To resolve this issue, delete and then re-create the files in the %SystemRoot%System32WbemRepository folder. To do this, follow these steps:

    Click Start, and then right-click My Computer.
    On the shortcut menu, click Manage.
    In the left pane of the Computer Management console, double-click Services and Applications.
    Under Services and Applications, click Services.
    In the right pane of the Computer Management console, locate and then right-click Windows Management Instrumentation.
    On the shortcut menu, click Stop.
    Start Windows Explorer, and then locate the %SystemRoot%System32WbemRepository folder.
    Delete all of the files in the %SystemRoot%System32WbemRepository folder.
    Restart the computer.

    The files that were deleted are re-created when the computer restarts. NOTE: The Windows Management Instrumentation service starts automatically when you restart the computer.
    If none of the above helps, replace your Boot.ini. In most cases it has to do with more than one OS being listed.

    Go to Start/Run and type in: msconfig. Then go to the Boot.ini Tab and click on Check All Boot Paths. If you receive a warning about a duplicate path: Do you want to remove, choose yes.

    Or...

    Right click the My Computer icon/Properties/Advanced/Startup and Recovery/Settings/System Startup/Edit.

    How to Edit the BOOT.INI File in Windows XP
    http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/Q289/0/22.asp

    How to Use System Information (MSINFO32) Switches

    MSINFO32 displays a comprehensive view of your hardware, system components, and software environment. This article provides an overview of the available switches that can be used with the MSINFO32 command.

    Using these switches, MSINFO32 can be used to:

    Use System Information from a batch file
    Create .nfo or .txt files that contain information from specified categories.
    Open System Information and display only specific categories.
    Save a file silently (without opening System Information).
    Start System Information connected to a remote computer.
    Create a shortcut that opens System Information in a commonly used configuration.

    To open System Information in History view, type: msinfo32 /pch
    To create an .nfo file in the folder C:TEMP with a name of TEST.NFO, type: msinfo32 /nfo C:TEMPTEST.NFO
    To create a .TXT file in the folder C:TEMP with a name of TEST.TXT, type: msinfo32 /report C:TEMPTEST.NFO

    To view System Information from a remote computer with a UNC name of BIGSERVER, type:
    msinfo32 /computer BIGSERVER

    To list the available category IDs, type: msinfo32 /showcategories

    To start System Information with all available information displayed, except Loaded Modules, type:
    msinfo32 /categories +all -loadedmodules

    To create an .nfo file called SYSSUM.NFO in the C:TEMP folder that contains information in the System Summary category, type: msinfo32 /nfo C:TEMPSYSSUM.NFO /categories +systemsummary

    To create a .NFO file called CONFLICTS.NFO in the C:TEMP folder that contains information about resource conflicts, type: msinfo32 /nfo C:TEMPCONFLICTS.NFO /categories +componentsproblemdevices+resourcesconflicts+resou rcesforcedhardware

    Msmsgs.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
    Ole32.dll May Cause an Error Message in Windows XP

    msmqocm.inf - Setup was unable to open information file msmqocm.inf. Contact your system administrator.

    Go to Windowsinf. In the right pane scroll down to msmqocm.inf. Right click it and choose install.

    If it isn't listed ...

    Go to Windowsinf. In the right pane scroll down to sysoc.inf. Open it in Notepad and remove this line:
    msmq=msmqocm.dll,MsmqOcm,msmqocm.inf,,6
    <font color=448800>_____________________________________ _______</font color=448800>

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Bruce, do you still have this index.dat file?

    C:WINDOWSPCHEALTHHELPCTROfflineCacheindex.dat

    Edit - sorry, just saw your other thread

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Hi, Telo ~

    No, I do not have th index file. I just asked a fellow Lounger to provide one in this thread. I am on to a lead w/ that connection and am gonna try a few things. Do you know about this connection? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    WMI is a-ok. Reg keys already verified per previous post referencing coresspondence w/ Kelly. MsInfo32 is dependent on a series of dlls as indicated by direct opening of the executable in the 'Microsoft Shared' folder or 'dllcache' directory.

    Am toying w/ the '%1' switch and the index files held in the 'C:WINDOWSPCHEALTHHELPCTROfflineCache' folder.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Hi, SMBP ~

    If you enter msinfo32 /? at the 'Run...' you get some brief info. There is a reference there to the PCHealth. The 'msinfo32/categories +all -loadmodules' produces the same results as 'msinfo32 /showcategories' which I got from there as well. It does bring up the system info tool, but something is askew to keep it from properly loading by 'msinfo32', the 'Accessories' shortcut, command line and either executable directly from 'Microsoft Shared' or 'dllchcache'.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    I discovered that appending "%1" to msinfo32 at 'Run...' forces it to open. So, rather than use a batch file or clutter the desktop w/ an infrequently used icon, I did change the path of the 'System Information' shortcut in 'Accessories' > 'System Tools' to "C:Program FilesCommon FilesMicrosoft SharedMSInfomsinfo32.exe" "%1"

    So, for now, the 'Accessories' shortcut or entering msinfo32 "%1" at 'Run...' is the easiest workaround, but I certainly would like to determine why it improperly loads to begin with and apply the proper remedy.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    Yes, if you've used Spider to clean in XP it deletes that file. msinfo32.exe will be back to normal once you replace that index.dat

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    When you tried to open msinfo32 before you were getting Help and Support; don't know since you say it tries to load or partially comes up if you're still getting Help and Support. But Help and Support and PC Health may be symptoms of a corrupt file(s) or dll(s) rather than PC Health being a part of any useful information that will help you fix. So if you haven't, take a few minutes and run SFC--use "sfc /purgecache" then "sfc /scannow" from the dos prompt rather than the run box--I'm thinking that you might be able to replace corrupt file(s)/dll(s) giving you the problem with intact ones particularly since you say that
    __________________________________________________ __

    "MsInfo32 is dependent on a series of dlls as indicated by direct opening of the executable in the 'Shared Tools' folder or 'dllcache' directory."
    __________________________________________________ __


    SMBP

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by brucekrymow on 03-May-03 11:15. )</P><IMG SRC=http://www.krymow.com/images/icon_thumbsup.gif> Got it.

    Tried creating one - nope - but simply copying one from another Lounger here and placing it in the 'C:WINDOWSPCHEALTHHELPCTROfflineCache' folder allowed 'msinfo32' to open properly. If renamed or removed, unable to open properly and when placed back, all was well!

    So something in the 'index.dat' file triggers something to be called to allow the msinfo32.exe to properly open, but do not know exactly what yet. I am trying to find a good .dat viewer. What could it possibly contain that would enable msinfo32 to properly open?

    Any way to create a fresh, new 'index.dat' file?

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Edit: The Spider has bitten! The 'index.dat' at that location is flagged by Spider v1.16. It can also be removed by other privacy utilities and registry cleaners. All other 'index.dat' files are rebuilt automatically - why not this one?

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1)

    See this thread and Index.dat Suite Help Files: View and Remove and Delindex. If you google mixing up index.dat, msinfo32, viewing, replacing there are hundreds of long threads; you may be more attuned to wading through them than I am.

    SMBP

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •