Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Autofill

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Port Talbot, Wales
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Autofill

    Hi Guys,
    Is there any way that i can create a shortcut or something to a site that will automatically fill in a field on the page, i don't want to use autofill because other people use the computer at work and i want to be able to keep all data on a floppy or encrypted .exe file. Any help would be appreciated!

    Cheers
    Jamie

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autofill

    Nothing that I know of, but you could use something like Clipomatic if it's just for you to use - or any number of clipboard enhancers. This is one that I know would fit on a floppy.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autofill

    Do you have VB? You can have VB open IE, go to the site, and then set the values you want in whatever fields. It's not too tough, but you need something to program with, like VB. Technically, you could do it in VBScript. If you sent me the URL, and what you wanted to put where (or a dummy text), I can post a VBScript to do it.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Autofill

    Drew, would VB have to open the page in the first place in order to be able to target it? I thought so based on previous tests with GetObject, maybe because I had multiple windows open and couldn't Get the right one, but if you have a way to target a specific open page/window, that would be quite handy.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Autofill

    I'm working on that right now, as a matter of fact, for one of my contract jobs. I'll post back here if I find the answer. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •