Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    i publish a newsletter using ms publisher 2000 sp3 (XPhome) and contrary to what the help menu reckons, i am unable to insert a hyperlink... my "insert" menu is missing "hyperlink" that according to help menu is meant to be there... copy and paste does not work, nor does paste special etc etc
    All very frustrating but i guess it is a microsoft product...
    Can any way help?
    Thanks in anticipation!
    David

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    Thanks for your time hans. Sadly however it has not helped because:
    * I am already displaying full menus
    * If i select Tools there is no "customise", however there is an options tab with very few option choices...
    * I can find no toolbars tab and no reset button, if i right-click on the toolbar i get standard and formatting toolbar choices and that is it....if i go to options via tool bars via the view menu then i get to turn on/off the following lame choices: big buttons, screentips and shortcut keys only...
    * I can find no commands tab...
    * Insert must be written in invissible ink cause everyone says it's there but it's not...

    THe "office assistant aint assisting cause he's saying to look for things that aint there, Woody's Office 2000 i cant find help in, and some of the solutions you have described make it sound like we are using different software?

    I have tried repiaring and reinstalling just in case things are corrupt; with no joy. A legal & registered copy....

    I am not new at this
    I guess i am not new at being frustrated at Redmond either!
    I have attached a screenshoot.

    Thanks again and if you can offer more advice it will be appreciated

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Memphis, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    243
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    You might get a better answer if you posted this in the Publisher group. This is PowerPoint. Maybe the Moderator can move it over there?

    LennyJo

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    (Woops - question was posted in PowerPoint but is actually about Publisher)

    Do you display full menus? If not, it may be hidden. Select Tools | Customize..., and in the Options tab, check Always display full menus, and click Close.

    If that is not the solution:
    Select Tools | Customize... again.
    If you haven't customized your menus heavily, select Menu Bar in the Toolbars tab, and click Reset...
    Otherwise, switch to the Commands tab. Select Insert in the Categories list, then scroll the Command list until you see Hyperlink. Drag Hyperlink to the menu bar, hover it over Insert until the menu drops down, then drop it somewhere near the bottom of the menu.
    Close the Customize dialog.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    Thanks, good catch. Will do.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    I've a feeling that the HTML link is only for creating web pages. Normal documents in Publisher are printed off so hyperlinks aren't necessary {that seems to be the logic - unlike Word docs or PDFs).
    You can type the address but it will not turn into a link.
    Peter

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    You need to be editing a website to have the hyperlink on the menu - the whole inset menu is different then. To change you publication to a website click File - Create web site from current publication.

    You can't insert a hyperlink in a normal Publisher 2000 publication.

    Hope that helps
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    thank you all

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Packer Town
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    Just to update you on this, Publisher 2002 and Publisher 2003 allow you to insert hyperlinks without having to convert to a website. That is a new feature since Publisher 2000. <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    london, Gtr London, Australia
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: hyperlink hypertension (2000 sp-3)

    Thanks all again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •