Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    Currently I have been manually using the file menu ->Get external data->import files and the dialogbox shows then I select ODBC database from types of files according to my attachment files. What i want to do is, isit possible to create a dialogbox instead of using manual way and so i can select ODBC database and it will open the Select data source.?If yes,pls help....thks <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    I'm not sure on what you wish to accomplish.

    Does this mean you want to select a different Data Source name each time you open the database?
    Do you just want to link to the ODBC database or do you wish to import the data into tables in Access?
    If you just want to link to the tables of an ODBC source then you only need do it once.

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    Yes, i want to link to the ODBC database <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20>

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    When you say you go into ->Get external data->import files <<, don't go into Import Files but go into Link tables instead. As I said before, you only have to do this once to create a link to ODBC tables. The tables are then available under the Tables tab as linked tables.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    You can do some of this from code, but the details of how you connect to an ODBC database are going to vary depending on the type of database. You aren't trying to connect to an Access database this way are you? I know there's a listing for it, but that isn't the way you link to an Access database. You use ODBC for SQL Server, dBase and other formats that don't provide an alternative method.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Open dialog for ODBC Database (a97)

    its tht mean whatever records they have added into the table then also as my table will be updated isit?And in future i do not need to use the process again to import the table, is tht correct? If yes, then it should be fine and i hv save my time to import large data every month. thks <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35> Why i hv not try use link instead of import.....foolish am i ... <img src=/S/clown.gif border=0 alt=clown width=15 height=15> ..As for Charlotte, thks for your advised .. i take patt advise then..... <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •