Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    676
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    How do you tell your links to "open in a new window" instead of reloading in the browser you're on? I would like my "main page" to be open in the background, even after I click a link to another file or site from it. I haven't read how to do this anywhere. Is it a setting I can control in the HTML code? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    In the Advanced section of Tools - Internet Options, clear the checkbox next to the entry "Reuse Windows for Launching Shortcuts". You can also shift-click a link to force it to open in a new window at any time regardless of this setting.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    I right click the link and choose "open in a new window"

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    <hr>You can also shift-click a link to force it to open in a new window at any time<hr>
    Except when searching at the Microsoft Knowledge Base itself. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> There you have to right click & choose "Open in new window". Why they make it difficult, I don't know.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    <hr>Except when searching at the Microsoft Knowledge Base itself. There you have to right click & choose "Open in new window".<hr>
    Except when using Avant. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Phil, I was curious about that so I just tried it and had no problem. It may be differing versions of IE or Windows, who knows??
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Whoops! I just tried it. I get the same thing with Avant (which uses the IE engine. Suppose I go to the KB & do a search. I end up with a page with a list of links. If I Shift+Click a link, it still opens in the same window; i.e. I lose my search page & I have to Alt+Left arrow to get back to it when I'm done reading the article. However, if I right click & link & choose "Open in New Window", it opens in a new window.

    If I Ctrl+Shift click a link, it opens in the same window. However, if I right click & link, hold the Ctrl key down, & choose "Open in New Window", it then opens in a new window in the background. Do you get different results?

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Hi Mark:
    I only have trouble on the MS KB site. See my post to Bruce. I have Win98SE & IE6. Are you saying that you get the same result whether you Shift+click or right click & choose "Open in New Window" on their site after a search? I've always asuumed that it was the way their site was set up. If not, I'd like to get to the bottom of this.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Phil - indeed I am saying that I get the same results either way. I'm using IE 6 on a fully patched version of Windows XP Pro. I'm trying to think of the variables that could be introduced here, and the only one that comes to mind is that I also have WebBlinds installed, which affords pop-up blocking as well - but I've not had the experience you describe even without it. Perhaps re-registering the DLLs that I noted in this post from July '02 would help?
    -Mark

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Thanks for that link, Mark. I think I checked it at the time. No change in behavior. It only happened after MS changed the format of the KB. I recall a discussion between the MODS at the time & I thought others had the same problem, but I'm not sure. All the Dlls that you mentioned registered except the regsvr32 shell32.dll. That gave me the error message shown below.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Hi, Phil ~

    Out of curiosity, I tried with IE and Avant. Shift+click for both work okay at the MSKB. That doesn't happen at any other sites for you?

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Nope. And it doesn't happen for all links at the MSKB. e.g. it doesn't happen if I click on links on the search page. It only happens after I do a search & get a list of links & click on them. Maybe it's an add-on? Maybe it's a registry hack somewhere? If I can't find it the cause, maybe I should wait until the Lounge search is available & start a new thread then.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Hi, Phil ~

    You are exactly right! Now that you explained excatly where and when this occurs, I encounter the same behaviour.

    After I do a search using the MKSB search page and get a page of results, each link of the results refuses the Shift+click procedure, but any other link on the same exact page besides the search results opens just fine with Shift+click.

    I tried this on 3 different machines each with different search results from MSKB and the behaviour is the same! Looking at the source, it appears all the links are javascripted with onclick="return gsfx_srchlink()"; which seems to force this behaviour.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    Thank you!! Although, this doesn't prove my sanity, at least I've eliminated a potential cause of insanity. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I wonder if Mark misunderstood me also & will get the same behavior. <img src=/S/ranton.gif border=0 alt=ranton width=66 height=37>I think this is one of the most stupid web setups I've ever seen, making it extremely difficult to go through a list of solutions quickly & keep your place. Perhaps this lessens the load on their server at the expense of their customers by discouraging people from using it. <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31> <img src=/S/rantoff.gif border=0 alt=rantoff width=66 height=37>

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Opening links (IE 5.5.4134.0600)

    If you're creating your own page, add the bolded part to your anchor tags:

    <pre>Google</pre>

    You'll often see people use target="new" - but this is less good because the browser will re-use the window named new for each link targeting it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •