Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Save As slow...

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Save As slow...

    First the problem:
    When I am in any Office application (Word,Excel,Access) and I try to do File/Save As,
    when I click the Save In dropdown box, it takes 30 seconds to open.

    I am on a network.
    There is no pattern of what drive I try to Save As from or Save As to.
    Nothing has changed with my computer - It was perfect at 6am, terrible at 6:05 am.
    Doesn't matter which application.
    This also happens when I try to "Import From" and then click the Save In dropdown.

    It used to drop down immediately, with NO hesitation.

    The Network guys here are <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>

    It looks like I have to take this into my own hands (well, with some Lounge Help <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>)

    Any ideas why the 30 second delay?

    Where should I start looking?

    Thanks !
    Michael

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    I wonder If it's looking for files,Folders, or Drives on the Network your own.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    The default folder in the dropdown box is My Documents. When I click the Save In drop down, it usually drops down to
    show all drives on the network immediately. Now it takes 30 seconds.
    If it is doing what you suggest, what would cause it to work fine one minute, and 30 second delay the next?

    I believe there is something happening with the network and the 'boys' don't want to let it out!!

    Anyway, I will keep looking ...

    Thanks!
    Michael

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Do you have any removable media drives on your system (Jaz or Zip drives for example)? If so, does it make any difference if there is a disk in the drive?
    Legare Coleman

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Legare first - (easier to answer !)
    Do you have any removable media drives on your system (Jaz or Zip drives for example)? No.


    Dave-
    What kind of hardware do you have, i.e., Processor speed, memory -
    According to system properties, 261m RAM

    how large of disk drive(s) most are 10 gig or more - none at even 50% capacity
    how many mapped drives - 4
    what kind of network. WIN NT
    I have found that the older machines with large drives will be much slower,
    also how many folders and files do you have in "My Documents? Less than I had last night !! 10 folders - 100 small files

    I think the point is, that since nothing has changed on my machine, I am looking to the network guys
    for the answer. I just don't know enough about connections, switches, et al, to be able to tell them
    where to look.

    This happened once before, and what had happened, (no one knew how or why) was that the drives were duplicating themselves on
    my machine!! As soon as I disconnected the extra drives, it worked fine. But that isn't the case this time.

    Thank you very much for your suggestions - I will post back if anything is found to be the culprit!!

    Michael

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    What kind of hardware do you have, i.e., Processor speed, memory, how large of disk drive(s), how many mapped drives and what kind of network.
    I have found that the older machines with large drives will be much slower, also how many folders and files do you have in "My Documents?.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Is "My Documents" on your local drive or is in on a network drive? Being that you are on a domain network, it can be on a mapped drive which can be a lot slower yet.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    7,295
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Another thing to check. What happens if you turn your virus protection off?
    Legare Coleman

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Dave - My Documents is on my Local C drive. This never was an issue before. Very curious.

    Legare - I am home now. But I received an email last week mentioning the 'boys' would be updating
    our virus protection (invisible to us, the users - or is it 'we' the users?)

    I will look into the VP tomorrow and find out what they did today. Could the virus protection make a difference
    with the Save As dropdown?

    I will post back tomorrow with my findings.

    Thanks guys for your patience!
    Michael

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Depending upon what the AV software is configured to scan, it certainly could make a difference. Remember that Windows Explorer tries to enumerate all drives you have mapped/assigned, so perhaps it's now scanning network drives? Just a thought. Don't rule out other potentials either, but the chips are leading in the direction of AV software....
    -Mark

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Just an update: Naturally, when I tried to reproduce the situation this morning, everything
    was normal. The dropdown now opens immediately for the Save As and Import or Export.

    I love how the network guys <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> and <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15> and act <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

    Seems like if they wait long enough, the problem solves itself. (Until next time, of course).

    Anyway, I will try asking their boss what happened between 6:15am yesterday and 6:15am this morning.
    If I get a straight answer ( <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15>) I'll post it. My gut feeling now, is that what they were going to do concerning
    upgrading the AV program behind the scenes, they did yesterday and won't tell.
    If it turns out to be something else, I'll let you know !!

    Again, thanks for having patience and sharing your insights and knowledge with me.

    Michael Abrams

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    Here is what the Network folks have to say:

    "There is a registry key that causes Windows to attempt to browse the 'Scheduled Tasks' on any machine you connect to remotely. If there are no scheduled tasks on the machine, you will experience the problem you are having. I have deleted this key from your computer. "

    It resolved itself yesterday at about 3:30pm - so I need to find out when he deleted the Registry Key.

    Stay tuned !

    Michael

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    If you can also find out what the registry key is I would love to know. I'm a "network guy" and never know when this may come in useful. Then I can dazzle my users with my brilliance! <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Glad you found a resolution.
    Granville

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    491
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Save As slow...

    He wouldn't tell me..... today. I'll get him to spill the beans <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> eventually!

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •