Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Keyboard Sleep Function

    Hey gang,

    I just inherited a nice new Logitech Elite keyboard from my sister, who is convinced that her computer is haunted and used it once. Whatta gift, eh? But here's the problem: for all the wonderful functionality that it has, the sleep button doesn't do anything. The documentation that comes with the software states that there's a problem with standby and Win2000/XP, and their online article doesn't references this matter directly and provides a registry patch which changes a filter setting in CurrentControlSet in the registry. That patch did absolutely nothing. The only significant difference aside from the keyboard itself is the fact that it's connected via USB - but their documentation doesn't state that it's innate to one connection or another.

    Funny, the Microsoft Internet keyboard that this is replacing had a sleep button that worked perfectly fine without any software at all. Thus, it's got nothing to do with operating system support, so I don't get it. Why would there be a difference in behavior? I've posed this question to Logitech also, but we'll see when - and if - I get a response.

    Ideas appreciated!
    -Mark

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keyboard Sleep Function

    Mark read this Sleep Button Option If you have already read this, sorry.
    One other thing I will warn you about. Once you install the Itouch Software , shutdown or restart can take forever if you don't exit Itouch from your System tray 1st. See this article About Shutdown
    And something tells me that the article about Shutting Down may also help with your Sleep Mode.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keyboard Sleep Function

    Looks like I jumped the gun on the standby function - the registry edit required a reboot to become effective. It works now....I shoulda known, I shoulda tried it - but I hate rebooting! I did notice that it took forever to shut down and restart, though - thanks for that link. Too bad Logitech hasn't stated which version of the software is affected by this minor annoyance.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keyboard Sleep Function

    Yeah I know. I have to exit Itouch before I reboot or Shutdown, because if I don't it takes forever.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keyboard Sleep Function

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by cbaldrey on 27-May-03 22:25. Missed typed the issue date. This has been corrected.)</P>Hey guys...

    I was just reading the May 26 2003 issue of the Lockergnome Techspecialist newsletter, and saw a portion devoted to the keyboard you're talking about.

    If you scroll down to the GnomeHELP section, the writer goes on to say the zBrowser.exe program that starts upon startup is the item you want to disable in the startup of your system.

    Thought you might want to test it for yourself... see if it's better / worse / the same....
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Keyboard Sleep Function

    Thanks Chris,

    I gave it a shot, and disabling zBrowser, for me anyway, removed all the advanced functionality of the keyboard. Some of the buttons still worked but not as I expected. Since I've gotten the keyboard to work with the sleep button using a registry patch, I guess I'll settle for killing the iTouch software before a reboot. Fortunately that's not a necessity very often, now I just need to depend on my memory....
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •