Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    Others will correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think there is an option or a registry setting to change the default behavior. You could create a macro and assign it to a toolbar button or keyboard shortcut to make it easy to switch "Allow break across pages" off. The contents of this macro could be

    On Error Resume Next
    Selection.Tables(1).Rows.AllowBreakAcrossPages = False

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    Hi,

    By default in Table Properties the Row is allowed to break across pages (as shown in screenshot).

    How can I make the opposite the default?
    Maybe a registry tweak?

    Thanks,

    m.q.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    Over the past year, many people have recommended making a table with the settings you like and saving it as AutoText. It will be easiest to find later if your table's paragraphs are in Normal style when you save it.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    Hi Musab:
    There are several default settings in tables that I don't like. Following up on Jefferson's suggestion, you can make 2 row tables with 2, 3, 4, etc. columns & name the AutoText entries t2, t3, t4, etc.. The reason I use 2 rows is that my first row is formatted differently for column headings. It's simple to add more rows, if necessary. I think it's faster to use AutoText than using Insert/Table or even using the toolbar button.
    My <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    The first macro in the attached text file will run through all the tables in a document and change the setting to not allow rows to break.

    The second macro is one that allows you to apply border settings from a start point of your choice and you get the option to apply the settings to a table or pass on to the next one. The settings and dialog boxes are specific to some work I regularly do. However, by changing what it does or by mixing the two and / or changing the dialog box text, you can set it up to make your own changes to a table or pass on to the next table.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default to rows not split across pages? (XP SP2)

    Interesting.

    Keep up the good work,

    m.q.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •