Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    When I select a given .jpg image in "My Pictures", I have the option under "Picture Tasks" to set it as my desktop background. This method works to set my background image. If, however, I right click the desktop, select Properties/Desktop tab and Browse to the same .jpg, I cannot "Apply" or "OK" it as my background. My feeling is that I've set something that prevents me from using this method, but what that may be escapes me. Any thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Hi, Paul ~

    After you 'Browse...' to the image and select 'Center', 'Stretch' or 'Tile', are the 'Apply' & 'OK' greyed out?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Hi Bruce,

    After browsing to the image and clicking "Open", I go back to Display Properties (Desktop tab). The Apply button is grayed out but the OK is available. This is the way things are before I go browsing. Clicking OK does nothing other than close the Display Properties window. The selected image is not listed in the Background box.

    One other item to note: when right clicking on the desktop and selecting Properties, there is a delay of a few seconds for the Display Properties window to appear. Don't know if this is significant.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    You are running a third-party program that adds "Picture Tasks" to your picture menu and override default Desktop picture settings. I don't know exactly which program is it, but try to remember did you install something like "Desktop Changer", "PowerToy", "Picture Enhancer" or maybe "Plus" Pack or similar?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    In Windows XP, "Picture Tasks" is a standard item in the left pane of a "My Computer"-type window of a folder that contains images.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Sorry, I use "Explorer"(Folders) view only. In that case, maybe desk.cpl is corrupted?

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Interesting possibility. Is there any way to tell if desk.cpl is corrupted? Should I attempt to repair/restore it? And last but not least, how do I do that?

    Thanks,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Can you open the desktop control from Control panel or by right clicking the desktop?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Hi Dave,

    I can start Display Properties from both Control Panel and by right-clicking the desktop. On the Display tab, I can set any of the image files listed in the Background list as my desktop background. What I cannot do is Browse to an other location to select an image as my background. This is puzzling as I am sure I could do this some time in the past. Any insight into this would be appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Since the folder that you are trying to use is NOT "THE My Pictures" folder you need to right click the folder and select properties. Select the Customize tab and change the type to "Picture" as shown in the attachment.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Don't think that's true Dave. I just happen to have a JPG file I created yesterday, sitting in D:TEMP and I used Desktop Background properties procedure and set the JPG as background without a problem. The temp directory is NOT setup as a "picture" folder and its view properties are set to "details." I think either the corruption theory or some other setting is getting in his way. Sorry, I don't have the answer (yet)...looking...

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Hi Dave,

    As a matter of fact, the folder I am dealing with IS "My Pictures". I don't think the problem has to do with where the image is located. The problem seems to be the "Browse" function. When I browse to a new image, XP goes through all the motions but does not actually "select" the image. When I get back to Display Properties the original background image is still selected. If I change Tile/Center/Stretch it applies to the original image only. The "browsed" image is not listed in the background image list box.

    On the other hand, if I set the background using the "Picture Tasks" pane in My Pictures, that image is then listed in the background image list box in Display Properties/Desktop tab.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Just check my "My Picytues" using Windows Explorer. If in the "Thumbnails or "Filmstrip"" mode the set as background is there, but if in any of the others it is NOT. What viewing mode are you in?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Trying a new tack....

    My "Display Properties" applet has two tabs (MSI Information, MSI Clock) placed there by the MSI video driver install (and update) process. I'm wondering if, like Windows Update, it may be advisable to install the "latest and greatest" driver updates only when someone like Woody passes judgment on them <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29>. Perhaps the driver updates broke the applet.

    If that is the case, can anyone tell me how to re-install the Control Panel Display applet? If this fixes the problem, I can then re-apply any video driver updates one-by-one to see if any one of them "breaks" the applet.

    Does this sound like a plan?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktop Background (WinXPP SP1)

    Hi, Paul ~

    That does sound like a plan. Not sure why your MSI video driver would install tabs there, but that may have been the culprit. I don't know of a way to reinstall just the Display applet, but you may wish to try uninstalling or rolling back the driver that 'broke' it first.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •