Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    I am using FrontPage to create content for WebCT, an academic program for online testing and teaching. WebCT is (ugh!!!) case sensitive for links so:

    [img]Image.jpg[/img]

    will not work in WebCT if the name of the file is image.jpg because the case is specified differently. I am having a lot of trouble with links that seem to work in FrontPage and Mozilla on my machine but which do not work inside WebCT due to different cases. Is there any way to force FrontPage to consider case when it test links?


    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  2. #2
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    What OS are you running FP on? FP talks to the OS about case sensitivity. WebCT must be using a Linux/Unix web server. My solution would be to make sure I kept everything in one case.

    <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    Personally, I run FrontPage on Windows ME. I have no idea what WebCT runs on. I just recently found out that it will allow me to have both an "Index.html" and an "index.html" file. I thought that Linux/Unix was suppose to be smart. This seems very dumb to me, even Windows can figure this stuff out.

    I am trying to keep the cases straight. The problem is I have not had to do this in the past and I have a lot of material and it is very, very tedious to go back and check all the links manually since FrontPage offers no help in spotting links where Linux/Unix seems to be unable to figure out the case but where Windows can figure it out. I was hoping for a way to avoid checking all these hundreds of existing links manually one-at-a-time.


    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  4. #4
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    How are you transferring files to website? I am assuming that you are developing your site on your (Windows) machine and transferring them to the WebCT site?

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    I went through a tedious process like this when I migrated from a Windows host to a Linux provider. At that time, the best solution I could come up with was using the Find and Replace function in Frontpage. I would then replace any existing text string in the paths specified by the web architecture in the HTML, site-wide. The file names I left alone. For example, from the root of the web on disk, I would start searcing for /IMAGES and replace it with /images. The I did this at each folder level - under images there might be subfolders, so I would then replace /thumbnails with the lowercase equivalent.

    I've since discovered a few other things that would have helped. 2Lower was one find. Even better: Windows Grep. Unix and Linux fans will recognize that name, it's a beauty for global replaces in text files. Free for use, and highly recommended.
    -Mark

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    Yes, I'm building the Web site on a Windows machine and uploading into WebCT. The development tools inside WebCT are so limited (just a limited ASCII editor) that it would be impossible to do anything else.
    Ronny Richardson

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    Thanks for the software tips, I'll get them. The problem is, I consistently liked to files with proper capitalization, e.g. "Index.html", but was not so consistent is naming them since Windows never cared. Some are proper capitalized and some are not. Once I figure out which files are which, I can search-and-replace on those files.

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  8. #8
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Can I make FrontPage case sensitive (97)

    So how are you transferring files between your machine and WebCT? FTP or the FrontPage publish feature?

    Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •