Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Drop down buttons

    I don't believe that FP has this feature, at least I can't find it. I'd like to have buttons that drop down with additional page links. Just like the Microsoft website. Kind of a hover button. Actually I want to use it on links on a left side frame. I suspect that this requires a Java script. Anyone got any ideas about how to do this or where I can find the script (I'm not a developer so I pretty much am restricted to "off the shelf").

  2. #2
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop down buttons

    The attached script should give you the basics of what you want. Link it to a button and adjust the sizes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop down buttons

    MerC.
    Thanks for the quick response, however, either 1. I'm not using your attachment properly, 2. I've not described my need well enough (which after looking back at my post is probably the case, or 3. you mistakenly attached the wrong file. If you'll click on the following URL http://www.microsoft.com/ms.htm, then put your arrow over the phrase All Products on the top right of the page, you'll almost exactly what I'm trying to do. I say almost, because I'd like to achieve a similar effect with a list of words in the left frame. I've seen it before on other sites, but none come to mind at the moment. I'll look around and see if I can find an exact example.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop down buttons

    The <A target="_blank" HREF=http://javascript.internet.com/>JavaScript Source</A> has a range of menus.

    You might find <A target="_blank" HREF=http://javascript.internet.com/navigation/category-menus.html>this menu</A> I spotted there similar to what you are after - also I'm sure I saw the code listed there for the 'MS' type drop down menus.

    HTH

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop down buttons

    Hi
    The script I sent you was only the skeleton. You still have to link it to a button, so it will drop down, then replace the links with the places you want your users to browse to. I still think it will do more-or-less what the MS button does. (Have you tried to extract the script for the button menu from their site? I haven't been able to, as I think they use private 'libraries' of scripts)
    ps it saves time if you would your make links live. In UB this just means enclosing it in url]...[/url] (but use an opening bracket). Thus :
    http://www.microsoft.com/ms.htm
    becomes <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.microsoft.com/ms.htm>http://www.microsoft.com/ms.htm</A>
    You can even hide a long link using url=link]txt description[/url], thus :
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.microsoft.com/ms.htm>MS Button Inspection</A>.
    Sorry if I haven't been much help.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    136
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop down buttons

    Merc,
    It's been awhile and I have made some progress. The java script you referred me to was close, but not exactly what I was looking for. I tried it and couldn't get it to work right plus what I was looking for worked like a hover button. I've subsequently located several other java scripts that are getting me closer. Your advice got me started in the right direction (that's a great site for java scripts) and forced me to think through what I was trying to get accomplished. ( you can tell from the last statement that I'm defintely NOT a professional programmer analyst). Just an amateur who refuses to design and implement the way it should be done.

    Once again, I appreciate your help and when I get this thing down, I'll let you know.

    ciao,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •