Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    I have created an Access 2000 application that has a start up form with some command buttons. It is used by three different locations and use to work great. But since one of the locations was upgraded to Office XP I have had some problems. The application starts fine, the start up form appears but the form does not respond when you click on a command button or option button. (if you close the application and re-open it everything works fine. (it also works fine if you put the form in Design view and then back into Form view) It's a bit annoying! Would anyone know why this is happening? O ya one more thing - it doesn't happen all the time to Access 2000 users and it never happens to Access XP users. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    A couple of possibilities come to mind. One is that your database may not be fully compiled - best solution is to decompile the database, then recopile it and compact and repair. I would for certain do that in 2000 - we've seen some weird things occasionally when you do design work in AccessXP, and then deploy it to Access2000 workstations. An alternate way of accomplishing essentially the same thing is to create a new blank database, and import everything from the old database to the new database. Another option would be that the form has corrupted slightly, and has gotten flakey. On a few occasions we have had to rebuild complex forms from scratch to solve weird problems like you have. But that should be more or less a last resort.
    Wendell

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    What's going on behind the form when it opens? We've seen AXP hang up for no reason we can determine, but usually when linking or refreshing links to another database. It doesn't always happen and we haven't been able to track down exactly what is causing it since it doesn't generate a system error, just a total lockup of the application.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    Thanks and sorry to take so long to reply. The database was compiled and compacted already but I did it again. Actually it sometimes happens right after I compact it. I may have to rebuilt it from scratch. One good thing about that is I can make some improvements at the same time. I'll let you know if the problem persists after I do the re-build.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    It's a start up form and there is no code running behind it until you click on a command button. There are some option buttons which you can click on and the get the focus, actually the focus does go to whichever object you click on, unfortunately if there is code that is suppose to run - it doesn

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Form not responding since using XP and 2000 (2000 )

    I wouldn't rebuild it from scratch - I would simply create an empty database in Access 2000, and them import all the objects into that database. You will have to set the startup properties, and any other things that don't transfer in a import, but that should let you test what is going on. Is this a front-end that is being shared by both 2000 and 2002? If so I would suggest you make two front-ends and point the 2002 users to one and the 2000 users to another. As a matter of fact, you might want to deploy the front-end to each workstation - there are many reasons for doing that.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •