Star Lounger
    Thanks

relationships and subforms (97)

I'm just beginning to set up a new database and have some questions. I'll explain it the best I can and I hope someone can help. I have my first table called Members which includes ID, Name, Address, City, State, Zip.
    I have a 2nd table called Programs which is just a list - it has ID (autonumber), and Program (volleyball, hockey, walking, etc.)

I need to make a fill in form which includes all member info, then be able to pick a program, or more than one program depending on how many a member joins, and then I was thinking of a subform for each program which lists info pertaining to that program.

So my questions are - how can I pick more than one program for each member and how can I do that but still be able to see the appropriate subforms? Should I make each program it's own table instead of the list like I have?

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: relationships and subforms (97)

What you describe is a many-to-many relationship between members and programs: one member can participate in several programs, and several members can participate in one program.

A many-to-many relationship is iomplemented by creating an intermediate table (let's call it MemberPrograms) that contains two fields: MemberID and ProgramID. You will add a record to this table for each member-program combination. So if member # 37 participates in programs #5, #12 and #23, you will add three records to the intermediate table. If you need to store information that is specific for the combination of member and program (for example start and end dates, fee paid, etc., you can add extra fields to the intermediate table.