Star Lounger
    Thanks

Changing Links (Word 2000 SP-3)

I have a document with several dozen links (using "paste link") to an Excel 2000 spreadsheet. During any given quarter the Word links would be updated according to changes in the Excel SS. However in the next quarter a SS with a different name is used (and the first one must be kept) and the Word document is copied to a new document. The problem is, this results in the need to change each of the link references one at a time to the new SS. Is there a way to change the Excel file reference in all of the links at the same time as a "global" change?

Thanks for the help.

Wayne

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Changing Links (Word 2000 SP-3)

<P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by Phil Rabichow on 02-Jun-03 17:34. to add the P.S.)</P>Hi Wayne:
    I'm not an Excel expert, so someone may have a better way. Instead of paste linking the different parts of the Excel spreadsheet, you could use Insert/Fields.../Database. You can specify a starting & ending row for this field. However, I don't know how to just include a range that didn't include all columns (not saying that it can't be done, though).

When you update this field (F9), a dialog box will pop up letting you change which spreadsheet you want to show, providing it's in the same workbook. This would only work if either the row numbers were always the same or if they always changed in a predictable fashion. In the latter case, you could use Find/Replace, with field codes showing, to change the starting & ending rows).

The syntax for your field would be similar to:

{ DATABASE d "CataFolderNameSubfolderFilename.xls" f 1 t 11 h * MERGEFORMAT }

The switches f & t mark the starting & ending rows (here 1 through 11). The h switch inserts the field names from the 1st row of the spreadsheet.

Hope this helps,