Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Video Editing Nightmare

    Will try to keep this short [img]/forums/images/smilies/ohmy.gif[/img]) New system 2.4G P4, epox MB, g4 64MB Nvidia graphics, 1x100Gb WD hdd 8Mb cache, 1x 120 Gb WD hdd 8Mb cache, 512 MB Ram, DVD Burner, CD Rom, Fdd, SB Live 5.1, NIC, Pinnacle DC10 delux, WIN XP Pro. My problem is that I can capture from my video source but system is very unstable when I convert to MPEG1. Have spoken to pinnacle but they dont seem have a clue or dont care. Has anyone had same issue or maybe suggest possible cause/ <in hope >solution?

    Regards
    Doni <img src=/S/boxedin.gif border=0 alt=boxedin width=25 height=20>

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    More information, please - define unstable? When do problems begin to occur, and what is their nature? Any error messages, in their entirety, would be helpful - and also what steps you are using in the process of converting. Also, when the system is "unstable" does this cease to be the case if you stop converting video?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    Thank for the reply Mark :-)
    system locks-up, Problems only occur when using studio8 to make MPeg 1 movie will convert to AVI files ok
    no errors as such other than the system locking up ctrl,alt del wont even allow system to end task.
    The problem is also intermitant will freeze anywhere from 10secs into conversion to 1hr into conversion.
    I have ample cooling so dont think it is a heat issue,system will also misbehave on cold boot, hope this is enough info for you to give me a clue

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    I've not used Pinnacle 8, but it's got a reputation among some folks as being a buggy piece of software. For instance, check out a few user reviews on the topic. Not that this helps you in any particular way, but misery loves company. There are some other interesting tidbits here, and I noted someone posted about using different drivers from SourceForge.

    The reference to Sourceforge interested me - you may want to breeze through the project website to see if it will help your situation any. My guess, it's either a corrupt/bad codec or video drivers that need a refresh. Drivers are simple enough to try - are you using the latest Nvidia drivers for the display adapter?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    yep ... have installed latest drivers also XP patch under instruction from Pinnacle themselves ... still to no avail [img]/forums/images/smilies/ohmy.gif[/img](
    will check out the links you suggest, many many thanks will post back if I get anywhere

    regards
    Doni

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    Excellent - post back even if you don't get anywhere. That way we can all help!
    -Mark

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    well have read and tried all of the above ... needless to say nothing has worked ... I am at present DL the latest beta drivers from pinnacle for studio 8
    I now believe it is totally software related as the capture side of things is flawless. If anybody out there has tried the beta drivers with XP please let me know how it went. Will keep the posts happenin till I get this right [img]/forums/images/smilies/ohmy.gif[/img])

    Regards
    Doni

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    Captured...to what format? If it's a matter of Pinnacle's own editor being the persnickety party, you could convert the data using one of several freeware products. A test using one of these applications would indicate that it's something with the underlying OS and not the editing software.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Video Editing Nightmare

    pinnacle card captures and creates a *stu* file, I have now captured 4 hours of film from VHS tape no problem
    also converted file to AVI format ok even burned direct to DVD in VCD format still will not convert to MPEG1 <sigh>
    maybe problem is hardware related after all? Tho no error messages at this time <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •