Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    It takes Mozilla 35 seconds to load on my fairly fast machine connected to the company's T1 line. That is far, far longer than Word, Excel or even Access. I have noticed that both Netscape and IE are also slow to load. It is not due to time required to load the homepage as I have Mozilla pointed to a simple html file on my hard drive as the homepage. Why in the world do browsers take so looooooong to load?


    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Some people might say that it is something to do with your having the entire Mozilla suite - and not the Firebird browser only package. 35 seconds is something that I have only experienced on a 9.6 Kbs connection - with IE. With a T1, you "should" be nowhere in that league.

    For the record, I have a 100 Mbs cable connection and it takes 3 seconds to start Mozilla Firebird pointed to a simple html file on my hard drive as the homepage and 5 seconds to load the Lounge. IE has always taken longer - even than the full Mozilla suite or the full Netscape suite.

    It may be that something else is going on in your environment. As you have the issue with a local file, it should not be any hub/router issue. Are you operating on NT/2k/XP - and not Win 9x? What is your resource usage per Task Manager(or System Monitor)? Are you in an environment where many of the configurable options on your machine are heavily "locked down"?

    HTH
    Gre

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Another question....what happens if you configure it to load a blank page? Eliminate the variables and see if it makes a difference.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Hi Ronny

    Mozilla, both the browser and the email client, load in 12 seconds on my computer, also with a local file homepage, with over 15 other applications already running (I like to play with all sorts of downloads <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> ).
    I'm running ME on an 800mhz PIII with 128 meg RAM.
    Sooooo.........35 seconds sounds like a loooooonnnnnnggggg time to me!
    But then, I can remember waiting 10 minutes for a 30k game to load from a cassette tape. <img src=/S/gramps.gif border=0 alt=gramps width=20 height=20> <img src=/S/snail.gif border=0 alt=snail width=21 height=17> <img src=/S/doze.gif border=0 alt=doze width=15 height=15>

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    No change when loading a blank page.


    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    I can be fairly certain that it is not anything to do specifically with one computer as I have the same problem at home and at work. At home, I have 256MB, Windows ME, and DSL. At work, I have 128MB, Windows 98, and a T1. The home computer is 800 MHz. I don't know for sure about the work computer but I think it's a little faster. Both take about 35 seconds to load the same version of Mozilla 1.0. It does not seem to matter one bit if I start Mozilla alone or if I am already running several other programs.

    This is just a start up problem. Once Mozilla is loaded, pages load extremely fast on either the T1 or DSL. Also, Netscape and IE both take a long time to load on either machine although I don't regularly use either one so I have not timed them. The version of IE I have is very old as I've never upgraded from what came with Windows. (Never use it.)

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Hi again Ronny

    Does Mozilla consistantly take so long to load, or does it vary?
    Are you running any security software that might be delaying the load?
    Do you have any other problems with Mozilla such as lockups, crashes or errors?
    Have you installed a newer version overtop of a previous version, ie: without uninstalling the previous version?

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Do you have a huge cache or bookmarks file, or anything else your browser might be digging through at startup?

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Have you tried doing a scandisk, followed by a defrag. If you haven't defraged for awhile, that might make a difference. There is a also a tool called wmalign, that uses WinAlign to align certain executables to load faster. I just searched & can't find it now; there are still articles by Win Magazine, but I could find a place to download it. The URL is http://www.winmag.com/windows/win98/alignwma.htm. Maybe you can find it. I used it for both Netscape & Mozilla & it did speed up loading.
    Hope this helps,

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Here's something you might want to try. Fred Langa has a thing called Browser Tune that might give you a clue what's going on. I know it's looking at stuff about your browser and your connection AFTER the browser is loaded, but maybe it might spot something that would tip you off. Fred's about to put out a new version, and I haven't run his 5.xx version, but it's worth a try.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Ken, Your Datacomm link is in error.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by KenK on 11-Jun-03 18:21. Fixed link....Thanks Al)</P>Hi Phil

    About 15 minutes ago I posted urls to dictacomm as a download site for WinAlign, but it hasn't shown up on the lounge yet.....The link is to a direct download. Go to Dictacomm's home page for more stuff.
    Anyway, here's another site that anyone intending to use WinAlign should check out first.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Thanks for posting this, Ken. How did you find it? I didn't find it on Google, nor could I find it by going to the home page & searching. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Hi Phil

    I know I'm inviting the wrath and ridicule of the masses, but...........I very seldom use GOOGLE.
    My favorite search applications are Web Ferret and First Stop Web Search. Uh huh, Google is free.......but it's bush league, IMHO, compared to WF and FSWS.
    Web Ferret gave me over 100 valid hits in a few seconds (I usually stop it at 100). Note that there are completely different applications titled 'WinAlign'. I picked a couple of links that seemed to be relevant.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 35 Seconds to Load (Mozilla 1.0)

    Thanks, Ken. I took a look at the free utilities. But I have to say that I ran the search again in Google & found the download site right at the top. I must have done something different before. Not that I'm knocking the two utilities that you've mentioned; I haven't tried them...yet. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •