Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    This may have been asked and answered, but I don't know how to search the database. Sorry.

    I have a bound form that works fine, sort of. It allows the user to enter, edit, find data, etc in an existing table. The table on contains 1800 records. The problem arises when "Filtering by Selection" and occasionally when sorting the data, the following message window pops up"
    "There isn't enough free memory to update the display. Close unneeded programs and try again."

    I am then unable to close the form! Must quit Access to get control. Even Control/Break won't let me recover.

    There is plenty of memory on the pc's. I get the same error message on four pc's. One running XP and the other three running Win2k. The error occurs whether running from the server or on local drive.

    Any ideas where this may be slipping in?

    TIA

    kwvh

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    You mentioned that there are 4 computers involved. Are they all sharing the same application? If so, how is it constructed?
    Is the application split into a front-end and back-end?
    If so, have you deployed the front-end to each of the 4 computers, so no one is sharing that file?
    You may run into resource problems if everyone is sharing the same single file on one computer.

    Another thing to look at might be any code behind the form. If there is any code, are variables being released properly?

    Just adding my 2 cents...

    RIch P.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    I had this a while ago which was solved when I applied the SR# updates.

    Check on the Microsoft help site, you will find plenty of info regarding this problem.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Another suggestion based on things that have come up here before.

    When in the the VB editor, make sure you close each code window before closing the edtor and returning to Access.
    If you don't you progressively open more and more code windows each time you start the Editor, and this adds a lot of overhead.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    The search feature of the Lounge is disabled at present due to technical difficulties. If I remember correctly, this is one of the problems that can also be caused by the version of MDAC (ADO) you have installed. You didn't specify what Service Release you have installed or what version of MDAC you're running, so I can't tell if it applies in this case.

    I forgot. Another reason to get this is because your temp folder is full of junk or your swap file (Virtual Memory setting) is too small The memory in question isn't the machine's memory per se, it's the resource available to Access. You can also get this message if you have a bunch of lookup fields in your tables and you have subdatasheets turned on OR you have Name AutoCorrect turned on.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Rich,
    Thanks for the followup.
    The pc's are not sharing the same application. The mde is on the local workstation and is linked to the tables in the mdb backend.

    For testing purposes, I even put the front end and back into one, with the same results. My next step is to look at code behind the form, though I am not sure at this point what I should be seeking.

    Thanks.

    kwvh

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Thanks Dave

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    John,

    I get an error even in the mde, which would not open VB editor (I think). It occurs when the only object open is the one form. The form is called from another form, which closes when the offending form is opened.

    Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Just a shot in the dark.... <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>


    1. Are you using a main-form/sub-form?
    2. What code do you have running behind the form? (Post it as a text attachment if possible)
    3. If you have a sub-form are you trying to set a filter on it?

    I had a similar problem many moons ago which was solved when I changed #3. See this article on the Access Web .
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Charlotte,

    Thanks for the followup. Running Service Release 1. The tables don't have lookup fields, but the form has four combo boxes with lookups, and there is one subform with 15 fields.

    Subdatasheets is turned off and AutoCorrect is turned off. It looks like I will have to go through the code behind the form (oh no!). I will let you know the findings if you are interested, and assuming I find the problem. LOL

    Thanks again.

    Kwvh

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Just another thought here.
    I was working on a very complex form some time ago which was nearing the maximum amount of controls a designer could place on one form (754 I think).
    This problem arised quite often when right clicking to go into design mode and another form was open behind it.
    If I went into design mode from the database window, it didn't happen quite as often.

    I think I lost loads of design changes, and having to repeat them.

    After updating to the current service pack as it was then, I created a new database and imported everything from the old one, reset my references etc. So freeing up any clutter left behind from the old form.
    The max (754) controls, although couldn't be seen because I had deleted some, obviously were still being counted in some way.

    For what it's worth, try an import and see what happens, but don't forget to back up first.

    Also as said before in this thread, try to make a habit of compiling, saving and exiting from the VB editor every time you've finish writing your code.

    Hope this helps a little.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: There isn't enough free memory . . . (2k)

    Steve,

    Thanks for the shot in the dark.
    1. Yes, I am using a main form/sub-form
    2. Code posted attached (which is probably where the problem resides)
    3. No, I am trying to filter on field(s) on the main form.

    Thanks for you help. Believe it or not, I am learning a lot from you guys.

    Kwvh
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •