Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    877
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    When Acrobat 5.0 launched there were 3 versions of PDF files: 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3, each with a different encryption. So with Acrobat 3.0 one cannot read, eg, PDF 1.3 files. This has to do with the encryption each soft uses: I think Acrobat 4.0 can produce 1.1 and 1.2; Acrobat 5.0, 1.1, 1.2 and 1.3. I dunno how things worked in previous versions of Acrobat.
    Now that Acrobat 6.0 launched, do we have a PDF 1.4? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Which is the improvement that'd make the purchase worthwhile?
    <img src=/w3timages/blue3line.gif width=33% height=2>
    <img src=/S/flags/Argentina.gif border=0 alt=Argentina width=30 height=18> <big><font color=4682b4><font face="Comic Sans MS">Diegol</font face=comic></font color=4682b4> </big>

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Did you have any problems installing the new Reader? I tried twice, and both times received an error message about the Windows Installer. I'm running Win2000Pro and logged on as an admin user, so I 'should' have full access. I did just run Windows Update for the IE6 patch, so hopefully that hasn't @#$!% things up.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0 is out, go to http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/readstep2.html.

    I have had Adobe Acrobat 6.0 (NOT the reader) now for about 3 weeks and it is a big improvement.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 18-Jun-03 09:51. )</P>I do NOT use the reader since I have the FULL version of the WRITER. And NO I did not have problems of installing the writer.

    Just installed version 6.0 Reader on my laptop, works just fine. BUT, do a uninstall on the older versions first, if not when you do a uninstall later on 5.0 will mess up version 6.0

    I did NOT use the "Manager" when downloading the 15 megs, but saved the file to my hard drive and and then did the install.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    David, I did the same as Dave - d/l the whole file, un-installed 5.0, installed 6.0. Went fine. Both at home & work.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    I always wonder whether to uninstall the old version, particularly when it is less clear with some of the many free 3rd party software programs written by individuals. I downloaded the new 6.0 and it seems to work fine with IE6SP1, has some new features I'm checking out (thanks for alerting me to it Dave), but I didn't uninstall the prior first and now face a problem when I do. I suppose the course there would be to uninstall 6.0 first, then 5.0 and reinstall 6.0. Wish I had the full version of Adobe Acrobat. Does that make sense?

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    David--

    In order to straighten things out via Dave's warning to uninstall 5.1 first, I uninstalled 6.0 (I checked both were in) using Ad/Remove Pro and it took 5.0 with it. No longer in its old file or the registry. I put 6.0 back in and this may help--try the install once checking the box not to use the Adobe Download Manager "Netoptions," and if a problem then try it without the check with the ADM (I'm assuming you haven't checked that box when you had the problem). No real solid rationale, but it might work.

    SMBP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Well, I uninstalled the 5.? version and installing the new one ran rather well. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> This was also after a reboot, but before then the Task Manager was showing what looked like a hung-up Windows Installer process.

    As to the download manager, I generally do not use them when they are provided as a 'helpful feature' by the originating web site. Whenever possible I prefer to use my own download manager program, or otherwise just rely on the 'save file as...' routine.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    PDF 1.4 was imnplemented in Acrobat 5.

    I suspect that Acrobat 6 is 1.5.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Hi, David ~

    That happens sometimes when uninstalling or installing certain apps and has happened to me with Drive Image and Acrobat.

    This is all you need to do:<UL><LI>Command line > msiexec /unregister > Enter > reboot<LI>Command line > msiexec /regserver > Enter > reboot[/list]This unregisters/reregisters the Windows Installer service.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Ed. by SMBP: Bruce--do you know why or how these commands work--just curious--because install/uninstall--particularly uninstall problems with the partnership between the Windows Installer and other installers can always be a problem. Do you know any tricks/or commands like this toward getting consistently clean uninstalls without leaving remnants or potential conflicts strewn out in the registry?

    If this will work for a number of different install hangups, it's a valuable little tool to be able to grab. I had a real tough time getting Partition Magic 8 in--no problem with 7--Powerquest called it 'a known and unsolved problem' so I ended up just doing an end run and copying it to my hard drive via Windows Explorer and it functioned perfectly. But if these commands will solve different install glitches, it's well worth having.

    SMBP

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    I'ts been a couple of weeks since you posted that you installed Reader 6.0... Have you noted any substantial improvements over 5.1 that would make the new version a 'keeper'?

    This somewhat negative take on the new version was submitted to & published in Lockergnome Windows Daily a couple of days ago:
    <hr>Adobe Acrobat. Now at 6.0, it is the most bloated software that does the least amount of work of all my applications. In its free form, its a viewer - plain and simple...<hr>
    (This from an editorial series on software that just gets worse with each new release.)

    I found that the browser integration sometimes would cause my browser to freeze up (both while loading or closing an online .pdf file), and most other times I would experience severe slow-down, even when loading files from my hard drive. It's gotten to the point where I'm seriously considering rolling back to the old version! It might not have the newest features, but it was much quicker and didn't cause any brower hang-ups.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    I have found that the initial load time is slower, but after that the in use response seems to be faster.

    It is no longer "Acrobat" reader but, Adobe Reader. This version allows the user to read "eBooks" and other formats. The rotate function is very helpful at times. The improvements made to Adobe Writer 6.0 will work better with the Reader 6.0. I do not remember if earlier versions were able to view different layers if the pdf file was layered, but 6 does support layers.

    There are versions for Palm Os, Pocket PC and Symbian OS

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    I've been using v5 at home, and v6 at work. I'm decidedly uninspired with the performance of v6 and have no incentive to change my @home setup. Admittedly, it's comparing chalk & cheese since the systems are different, but v6 is definitely more sluggish on work computers, which are a generation newer than my home clunker.

    BTW, you can find older versions of Adobe Acrobat Reader at http://www.oldversion.com/, along with lots of other archived software.

    Alan

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Thanks for the link and the info. I've been archiving most of my downloaded programs for some time, generally just in case a reinstall is necessary, but on occasion they are there for version rollbacks too. I actually have the install for 5.1.0 archived, ready to use if desired. I'll have to look through my archives to see if I can 'donate' some of my old programs to OldVersion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •