Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 (2000)

    Do you know in which version the Paradox file was made? Access 2000 supports importing Paradox 3.0, 4.0 and 5.0, but not more recent versions (7.0 or 8.0)

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    Edited by HansV to make subject more specific - "Access 2000" was not very informative <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Please help. Am trying to import a paradox (.db) file into access but each time I do this I get the following error "MS jet database engine could not find obeject *.db. Make sure the object exists and is spelled correctly"

    I don't know if this is a permission problem, it shouldn't be as I have checked. Also have checked ODBC and it seems okay but I am no expert. Saw an article on MS website which said the filename must be no more than 8 letters, if I rename to less than 8 letters I get the following error when importing "external table is not in expected format".

    Thanks
    Fiona

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Access 2000 (2000)

    I believe Access will support the more recent versions if the Borlund Data Engine is installed on the machine but not otherwise.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Access 2000 (2000)

    According to ACC2000: Using Paradox Data with Access 2000 and Jet, importing or linking Paradox 7 or 8 tables is not supported at all in Access 2000; a linked Paradox 3, 4 or 5 table is read-only unless either Jet 4.0 SP 5 or the BDE is installed:

    <table border=1><td align=center>Version</td><td align=center>Behavior</td><td>Paradox 3, 4, 5 ISAM Only</td><td>ImportExportLink-Read Only</td><td>Paradox 3, 4, 5 ISAM w/Jet 4 SP5</td><td>ImportExportLink-Read Write</td><td>Paradox 3, 4, 5 ISAM w/BDE</td><td>ImportExportLink-Read Write</td><td>Paradox 7-8</td><td>No support provided</td></table>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    286
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    Try importing the Paradox files into Excel, save as delimited text, import into Access. This method has worked for me when I have difficulty importing any foreign db's into Access.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    I know the paradox files are a version which work with access as I can import them into access on my machine but not on anyone elses. I thought it was because I have admin rights but have tried logging in as me onto other machines but no joy. I have version 9.0.3821 sr-1 and I know one other machine has version 9.0.4402 sr-1, could this be the problem? Have checked ODBC for any differences but can't spot any. How do I check if I have BDE?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    Do I need to install jet4 sp5?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    In fact, you should get SP6, but all related Knowledge Base articles seem to be unavailable at the moment <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Emerald Beach, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    I've migrated a few paradox systems to access and as others have indicated the version of paradox will determine if you have a compatible driver.

    To check if the BDE is installed on the PC open Control panel and there will be a BDE icon (for a non developer machine). If you have Delphi or another language installed that installs the BDE it will show under the Start menu in the Program folder associated with the language.

    Back to Paradox, the access ISAM for Paradox has a default sort order of ASCII or international, if it is Ascii change it to International or if it's International change it to ASCII, you may then be able to perform the import. The collating order is specified in the registry

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftJet3.5EnginesPa radoxCollatingSequence


    Additionally I seem to recall that in the target database options, under the general tab you can specify the default language sort order if the paradox table came from a different language.

    Stewart

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    Stewart,

    It appears I don't have BDE, can you tell me how to install and configure.

    Thanks

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    You can download the BDE from http://info.borland.com/devsupport/bde/
    Installing the BDE will add a new item to your control panel. You can configure the BDE there.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    I have installed BDE and this has solved the issue. The problem we have now is that we can't get BDE to work on win2k under a power users login only an administartors, should this be the case? These users cannot have domain admin rights but do need to be able to use BDE, any suggestions?

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    It should be possible to let "ordinary" users use the BDE. They need to have sufficient rights in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareBorland branch of the registry. The administrator should be able to grant rights to the other users, but I'm not an expert in that, so I can't give you any details.

  14. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Emerald Beach, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    did you create a paradox database in the BDE administrator that your system uses for the ODBC connection?

    I thought you were trying to import the Paradox data. Why does the user need access to the Paradox data via odbc?

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't import Paradox files (Access 2000)

    Sorry, my question has now changed to one about BDE, have solved the import problem. We also use BDE on the back of another application and this application uses BDE to write to the registry. However the application only works on an administrator logon and not on the power user logon. I have been told the reason for this is that BDE can only be used by administrators and find this hard to believe. If any of you are BDE experts can you please help.

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •