Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Dial-up and cannot find server

    I have lost the ability to browse or exchange email (cannot find server), although I can dial up without difficulty. It is the same on my two desktop computers but not on my two laptops. The suspected cause is a botched attempt to network the two using either a D-Link DI-604 router or a crossover cable. I also have LapLink on both machines, which shows as a network connection in each case although it's only occasionally used. I only have a dial-up account.
    The one error message I have been able to trigger was Error 799: Internet Connection Sharing cannot be enabled due to an IP address conflict on the network. ICS requires the host to be configured to use 192.168.0.1 etc. That is the default address for the router, and help personnel at my ISP confirmed that that problem might also explain my inability to use my browsers and email client (and it's my problem not theirs).
    I don't know how to cure it and my restore points don't go back far enough to help. In the short run I'm in no hurry to network but I'd like to be able to get back online.

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    "Network Neighborhood" should be an icon on the desktop. Right click on it and choose properties. Depending on the OS you are using your next screen should have TCP/IP, select it and then choose "Properties". Put a check mark in the "Obtain and IP Address Automatically" select "OK" and close out to the desktop, if asked to do so reboot, if not asked to do so reboot anyway. XP is a little more difficult to get there but the end result is the same.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    A number of sources have indicated that my TCP/IC settings are incorrect, but this appears to be a complicated business under XP, and I haven't had any luck. The local network itself is working well with a crossover cable, but even with the files I wanted transferred now moved and the cable removed I still can't get on the internet or send or receive email. Any more explicit directions would be welcome.

    Thanks, peter

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    Here is a step by step to get to the TCP/IP settings for XP.
    on the Desktop right click on time on "My Network Places" then choose "Properties" from the menu that appears.
    A new screen should appear and on it there should be at least one "Local Area Connection" if there are two or more, then that is probably your problem delete all but the first one (they will be numbered).
    If you only have one "Local Area Connection" then Double Click on it. A new screen will appear called "Local Area Connection Status" . Under the "General" tab click on "Properties".
    This will bring up another windows labeled "Local Area Connection Properties". In the middle of this box will be "This connection uses the following items" and in the white box there should be "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)" left click one time on it and then choose the "Properties" button.
    Thanks to Bill ANOTHER window will pop up labeled " Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties"
    This window is where you will set your IP information or select "Obtain an IP address Automatically" depending on your ISP and needs.
    I hope this gives you a good start, I'll check back tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    I have no difficulty in arriving at TCP/IP properties and setting them to obtain an IP address automatically, which is what works on the XP laptop that still works, as well as on the Windows 98 laptop, but it doesn't help on either of the two XP desktop computers, both of which previously worked well. I have repeatedly reset TCP/IP as per KB 299357 with no success, and turning off the firewalls and anti-virus doesn't help either.

    I resorted to surgery: I shut down and opened one computer and did an ethernectomy and modemectomy, removing both cards, then employing unplug and playaround I ran the computer a bit and shut it down, and ran it some more and shut it down, so it would get used to the fact that something was missing. The hardware did not show up in the usual places, so it appeared that the computer had learned something. I then reinstalled the modem but not the ethernet card but the problem remains: I can dial up but the computer can't see the server.

    Here's a bonus that may affect or interest numerous readers. I haven't seen any threads on the board and the search facility is unavailable, but I said that I have LapLink (which Woody discussed in his books). I have two local area connections as a result, and I require LapLink because my laptop only has a USB connection and my older 'emergency' laptop doesn't even have that but can transfer files via LapLink. The question is: Why did I even install XP's networking when I already had more powerful software installed in the form of LapLink? In my case I simply didn't know any better, it never occurred to me that LapLink constitutes a network, and ethernet is new to me, but assuming I can get it to work (and I don't even know which cable to use) XP's native network capability is no competition for LapLink. I should add that I'm a single user and as such only use networking for transfers and such things. As part of the troubleshooting I have uninstalled the LapLink USB driver and the program as well, and that didn't help either - I still can't see the server once I've dialled up. It may have a simple cause, but I've been offline with my main browsing computer for a full month now because of it, and I'd welcome any other ideas for a cure.

    Thanks, Peter

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    I do not think this will affect the situation. When you removed the modem and NIC did you also remove the drivers from the "Hardware" tab?

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    Good point. No, I didn't think to remove the drivers, and have done so at the appropriate times at your suggestion. Unfortunately it hasn't helped, and it's almost certainly not a hardware problem. I uninstalled the drivers and both modem and ethernet card on both machines, then I changed the modem on one machine for a spare from a different manufacturer and switched the ethernet cards between the machines, since those are different makes. I had balloons galore as new hardware was discovered and identified and drivers were installed, all of which appears to have been successful. I had also deleted my dial-up connection and set that up manually. Unfortunately it hasn't helped: I can dial up and have my password recognized, but I then run into a brick wall when any of my applications tries to find a server.

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Dial-up and cannot find server

    The problem has been solved, apparently either thanks to a utility or to removing utilities. After spending a fortune on books and magazines and on-line time and postings using my laptop and downtime, I installed V Communications SystemSuite 5 and ran assorted utitlities with no apparent success, then removed McAfee which was still on the computer and then tried it again and miraculously found myself online with my desktop for the first time in nearly six weeks.
    I've made so many changes and tried so many things I have no idea what did the trick, nor do I know exactly what created the problem in the first place beyond my networking two desktop computers, especially since the computers worked prior to that. The second desktop is out of commission as a result of an unrelated software change that was made the day before I finally got the other online, and if I can get that running again I'll have a better idea. I can't take any credit for the cure but it seems likely that a utility took care of it automatically.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •