Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MD5 Hash

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    MD5 Hash

    I recently downloaded Spybot S&D and noticed that on the download page they provide an MD5 hash count. I believe this is used to verify that the downloaded program is complete and unmodified from its original state... in other words, it's the real thing.

    Question 1: Is this assumption correct?
    Question 2: How does one go about using the MD5 hash to verify the program?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Hi Paul

    I don't have a direct answer for you, but you might find it here at the Spybot S&D Support Forum.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Paul,

    Q1 is correct.

    As for how, have a look at the MD5 Command Line Message Digest Utility. It's a command line utility for computing MD5 hashes.

    Download the zip there, extract md5.exe. Drop down to a command prompt and type:

    c:fullpathtomd5.exe -dc:fullpathtoSpybotDownload.exe

    When it's all done churning, and it may take a while, the output will look something like:

    8AFDD55A2C724EFDEFE82CA773527E5D

    That is the MD5 hash of the file you have. Then compare it to hash give by Spybot. If they are the same, then the download is fine. If not, then download again.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Great! Thanks, Bryan, that's the information I was looking for. I thought it may be more complicated than that, more like PGP signed documents involving PKI. This seems relatively straight forward.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Paul,

    I gave you a bit of misinformation, well wrong information.

    I told you the command line for the MD5 file I directed you to was:

    c:fullpathtomd5.exe -dc:fullpathtoSpybotDownload.exe

    That command line will compute the MD5 hash for the string c:fullpathtoSpybotDownload.exe and not the file c:fullpathtoSpybotDownload.exe

    To get the MD5 hash of the file use:

    c:fullpathtomd5.exe c:fullpathtoSpybotDownload.exe

    Sorry about that. I just got burnt by my own bad information.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Hi Bryan,

    I also ran into another little problem. It appears the program does not support long file names. In any event, I somehow muddled through the whole thing and managed to get an MD5 hash out of the downloaded program that matched the hash given at the download site.

    Thanks for your help.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,139
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Paul,

    I think you need to use "" marks around paths and file names with spaces in it.

    This is the command line I used to do an MD5 has last night:

    md5.exe "Cocuments and SettingsBryanDesktopshrike-i386-disc1.iso"

    and It worked for me. So I think the trick is the "s.

    Glad you got it figured out though.
    --
    Bryan Carbonnell - Toronto <img src=/S/flags/Ontario.gif border=0 alt=Ontario width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Canada.gif border=0 alt=Canada width=30 height=18>
    Unfortunately common sense isn't so common!!
    Visit my website for useful Word, Excel and Access code, templates and Add-Ins

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: MD5 Hash

    Just to complicate the issue further. PGP and other similar tools use MD5 checksums as part of the Digital Signing process. They then Encrypt the MD5 checksum using the senders private key. This enables you to verify that the document hasn't changed and that the checksum was generated by the person you expect.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •