Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    I have this empty NAV blank box that came up when I was going to scan. I can't kill it--so leave it minimized on the task bar. I know it will be gone when I reboot, but I don't want to because I have windows open in the browser I want to finish with. I could probably end it if I knew what it's name is as a process, but would have to ID it on the list, and there are two other "navs" listed--NAVAPW32.EXE and nvsvc32.exe they probably refer to keeping auto protect going--at least one. It also may be listed some other way in the 41 processes running. I opened up Norton again, and scanned no problem. It probably came up when I was short memory because I had a lot going on.

    Nothing's running with a problem, I'm just trying to understand the reason I can't get rid of it on the task bar or kill it when it's maximized.

    SMBP

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    I deleted mine so I can't compare icons, but it might be Symantec's net detect that inserts itself in Scheduled Tasks.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Thanks Telo--

    It's only happened once with the box. "Scan" at the bottom of the Norton box and "Scan this computer' were refractory for a good while after this first blank box, then Norton was willing to do a scan. I think it has something to do with memory, maybe some procedure call conflict at the time. There is a kill application I have somewhere I might hunt up just to see if it can kill it or I'll hunt down which process it is out of curiosity.

    SMBP

  4. #4
    billeger
    Guest

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    SMBP,

    Is that Adobe Reader's little icon beneath the yellow box? Looks like a mirror image of it.

    [b]<font color=blue> <img src=/S/sailing.gif border=0 alt=sailing width=25 height=25>Hawai`i Bill

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    No, Bill--

    It's part of Norton's icon. Sometimes when I have some applications running, and about 50 IE windows open, and I run low on memory, strange things begin to happen--you'll lose File/Edit/View/Favorites/Tools/Help on IE windows, but they'll still open--I'll have to go for 100 some day and if I don't have folder windows open that involve explorer, I don't lose any speed at all.

    This was the video card trying to supply a Norton box and not enough memory to do it, or run Norton, and now it won't close. I've seen what I relate to this with IE browser windows that won't close like this one.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Might want to add some more Memory or up your Page File Size. Or turn off services you don't use.

  7. #7
    billeger
    Guest

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    SMBP,

    Yesterday, working on my client's machine, I got something very like this near the center of the monitor screen. It occurred after I had run SpyBot and before running AdWare. It wouldn't acknowledge being clicked, etc. And it was not a good image, sort of like two windows about 1" deep and 2" wide with the top window title bar split horizontally along the middle.Didn't return after AdWare ran, by the way. I've never seen anything like that or what you describe on my system <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>.

    Don't know if that helps.but at least you know you are not alone! How much RAM in that machine? And on the video card?

    Aloha,

    [b]<font color=blue> <img src=/S/sailing.gif border=0 alt=sailing width=25 height=25>Hawai`i Bill

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    You couldn't be more right. It happens when I'm searching for answers--open a lot of windows I want, and haven't covered them all at once. I could close and access from history, but I need more RAM--I could tweak the page file some, but I have it about where I want it. I have gone considerably up, but it takes up drive real estate. More RAM will do the trick.

    SMBP

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    256 MB RAM, and it performs like a champ until I push it with way too many browser windows open, a media player running, and it's more sensitive to folder windows then browser windows I've found. I have needed to push up to 512 MB or more--to stop getting low memory syndrome. And this machine will perform like a champ until I push close to 50 windows open on this much RAM.

    But this was the first time I had an empty Norton Window that wouldn't close and just wanted to figure out ways to close it besides booting and how it got there. The other window I screenshot was clearly an out of RAM problem, but you can't kill those windows from Task Manager, or if you do, they'll all shut in that situation. I get a "________" is non-responsive on the name bar, and often a window that will minimize, show up on task manager's processes with no name, and won't be closed from the task bar until I reboot.

    "Faulting application showbar.exe, version 0.0.0.0, faulting module showbar.exe, version 0.0.0.0, fault address 0x00044939." type error posted on Event Manager.

    I can keep them from closing, and get out of the sometimes accompanying freeze by going to Applications>New Task>iexplore.exe and it bails me out most every time--a trick I learned from TimOz that he posted a while back. It saves having all my windows close against my will and a reboot. Obviously when things get this way, I'm getting some signs to reboot usually like hesitancy from the status bar--performance lags.

    I want you to keep running Spybot and Adaware regularly, because IMHO spyware has to be high on the list in the differential of things that might cause your slow downs, and I think you'll find over time that because of it you're getting more consistent good performance.

    SMBP

  10. #10
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    I have 768 MB SDRAM. Don't even use a Page File even playing 3D games. Memory is pretty cheap now days, and one the easiest and cheapest ways to increase performance and decrease instability. I can't even remember the last time I had any problems related to memory or instability. I have this Pent 111 933 overcloced to 1050 MHZ and tweeked like a race car. I love that kinda of stuff. Course thats why I love building and repairing Computers as my second Business. Fill that baby up with Memory and set back and enjoy. WinXP loves Memory like a kid loves candy.

  11. #11
    billeger
    Guest

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Forgot to ask, the size of your swapfile. Because I've got an 80gig drive, I've got mine set to the max and RAM/memory problems haven't surfaced on my system though I do lots of very demanding graphics -- one four-color, four-up brochure page file sent by wire to printer from Corel Draw was 35mg! Never hesitated.

    You use the word 'regularly' on Spybot, etc. schedule. Cowboy lows as how he runs his about once a month. Any recommendations on that? I had 12 identified bad things on this sytem that has been up for 15 months and rather steady internet connection (always with NAV used at least once a week, by the way, but that's not SpyWare related, right?)

    In every way, since taking the advice given here by you and a few others, this system is running very reliably. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> I do wish I could afford another 256mg ram but these DDRAM for Dell run up. At my age I'm not supposed to be poor -- but I do have a lot of friends!

    [b]<font color=blue> <img src=/S/sailing.gif border=0 alt=sailing width=25 height=25>Hawai`i Bill

  12. #12
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Bill, I always say you can't have to much Memory when your running WinXP, with lots of Alps and Graphics like you do. I mean it's not like it's going to hurt your Machine if you install more Memory then you use. Plus I like the fact that I don't even have to use a Page File. I have heard some people say you need a Page File no matter what, but they will have to prove it to me. I run 3D games like Delta Force 2, Unreal Tounament, and others and have never had any problems. They run smooth as silk. Memory is the easiest and cheapest way to go for performance boost and stability and of course a good Graphics Card always helps. As for running Spybot and Adware , just run it when you feel like cleaning. Other wise about once a month if you download alot from the Net. Or if your Computer seems sluggish. I like to keep System real clean, so I run them sometimes once a week.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Well said. It's the same thing the guys on Screensavers who are all gamers say all the time. And your philosophy would save an awful lot of people a lot of time they spend attributing some of their problems to other sources--XP does love memory--and games drive the hardware development to an awfully big extent. If you haven't been hitting it, you would like Extreme Tech in addition to your other hardware/game sites because it does a good job of covering the partnership between games, hardware, chips, processors, ect.

    SMBP

  14. #14
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: What causes this box? (Win XPP SP1 IE6SP1)

    Thanks SMBP I will check that site out. And yes you are right. Alot of instability problems comes from squeezing the crapola out of there memory and to small of a Video Card that bottle necks there system. I mean SDRAM is pretty cheap now days and so are some decent Video Cards. If you have everything else installed correctly, Drivers, Hardware and such. I say and will always say, Load that baby up with Memory and a good Video Card and your going to cut way down on a lot of your systems problems. It can't think straight or see good if it don't have the stuff to do it with.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •