Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Sometimes, the following situation occurs:
    1) If I highlight one file, right click to open the context menu, and choose an option everything runs fine.
    2) But if I highlight two or more files of that same type, right click to open the context menus, and choose an option, I get no action, and instead get a Windows exclamation point box labeled "poweren", with the message "E_Fail" and an OK button for each originally highlighted file (if it helps, I can send a screen shot showing this box).

    This happens for a number of different file types

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Have you installed the PowerŽen utility (http://www2.simtel.net/pub/pd/17544.html)? It was the only reference I found in Google that seemed likely to be relevant.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    In response to both replies (so far):
    1) No, I haven't downloaded that file off the internet. Interestingly though, I do have Power Rename from Creative Element Power Tools (O'Reilly) installed on my machine.
    2) This is by design! Are you sure? I may be mistaken, but I seem to remember doing this all the time successfully. Is this something that was changed with XP?

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    No--not sure. But I can't highlight multiple files same extension and do it, and I don't think you can do it with different extensions. I don't think I could do it with Win 9x. I don't see anything helpful in the KB on this--I'll see what I can find.

    SMBP

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    From the horse's mouth (bottom of page):
    <hr> <font color=red> <IMG SRC=http://www.baxbex.com/images/b.gif > OpenExpert is free for personal use! </font color=red> <hr>
    Had me worried for a moment, because I try to stick by the rules with shareware, especially when it's in regular use. I've used OpenExpert since 1.00 and found it a great adjunct to the default "Open with" option.

    Unfortunately, I suspect it will do little to resolve boobounder's problem, even as a workaround.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Also see this freeware:
    Filetargets and its screenshot.

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Boobounder--

    I believe this is by design and there are a lot of tweaks to modify or add to the rt. click context menu through reg mods, but I think you will need a 3rd party app like Babex Open Expert which allows you to ad an "open with" item to the context menu of the chosen file type with a number of apps. It has a trial, it's free to buy, and screen shots/detail here.

    <small>Ed SMBP: Tim is right as usual--it's free and I don't see how you can right click context multiple files without some help if it exists to do this.<small>

    SMBP

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Frankly, I don't know if it will help, but does Power Rename offer the possibility to disable it (temporarily)? If so, you might try and see if it makes any difference.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    Hans--

    From its description that it can rename files in batches it sure seems to fill the bill.

    SMBP

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    412
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: Context Menu Failure (XP Pro)

    I'm ready to close this thread down. I think the problem is with other software not Windows.

    After checking on Hans suggestion, I realized that I do have Power Rename from Creative Elements Power Tools (rather than the company that Hans suggested). I e-mailed them, and they have seen a similar problem in Windows Me, so I guess I'll just wait for a bug fix.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •