Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Status Bar (6)

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Status Bar (6)

    In some windows the Status Bar does not show automatically while in others it does. I would like the Status Bar to show always but cannot find a setting to enable this.

    Can you direct me please? (this may be covered previously but the Lounge search function is currently disabled).

    Thanks, Ken <img src=/S/aussie.gif border=0 alt=aussie width=21 height=22>

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    Hi, Ken ~

    Whether you are in Windows Explorer, Internet Explorer or most other non-MS apps, you will find the 'Status bar' setting in the menu under 'View'.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    Some links and pop-ups open windows that are restricted (e.g., no toolbars), and you cannot configure them in any way (e.g., can't resize); these typically are opened with a scripting command (e.g., window.open). This probably explains some of the cases, but maybe not all of them.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    And it's nothing personal, but Windows has a habit of arbitrarily forgetting or ignoring your setting. When it does, just reset it (and <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> if it helps).
    <font face="Comic Sans MS" color="blue">TimOz</font>
    <img src=/S/flags/Finland.gif border=0 alt=Finland width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    Hi Ken:
    I've had this recurring problem for a long time. Closing all IE windows except one, viewing the status bar manually, & then closing IE by holding down the Ctrl & the shift key & clicking the "X" in the top right corner seems to work for awhile. Actually, it's either the shift or ctrl key, but I can never remember which. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    (Edited by Leif to make link live - see the quick guide)
    __________________________________

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Thanks for the responses people. Resolved the problem - sort of. Taking more notice of when there was a lack of status bar, I noticed it reliably occurred when I created a new window instance (File | New | Window). Went to report it as a bug and saw a link to the MS Knowledgebase. Sure enough there it is as:
    330216 - Status Bar Is Not Displayed When You Open a New Browser Window
    -a known bug in IE6. I really must remember to check out the knowledgebase first in future.

    Haere ra <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewZealand.gif border=0 alt=NewZealand width=30 height=18>

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Status Bar (6)

    Hi Orienteer--

    Status Bar Stick threads have been on the lounge several times--most recently a few months ago. It's a common topic in newgroups--this one typical. The KB's are always well worth consulting, but this particular one doesn't leave you with much. The IE status bar has chronic stick problems that MS hasn't fixed. You can always try to add it from View whichever application or Windows component you're in holding down the Ctrl key as Phil mentioned with only one IE window open. The ctrl key also often helps in remembering window size when you close although that isn't perfect and there are other recipes for that.

    Another tip that often works for the status bar is to go to Explorer/My Computer, as Bruce said, and hit View on the Toolbar and click it. Then in Explorer/My Computer Tools>Folder Options>View Tab> click "Apply to all folders" button.. This works often--not 100%.

    Also verify that this registry entry exists:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMain
    "Show_StatusBar"="yes"
    "Show_URLinStatusBar"="yes"


    People using either Surfhelper or Style XP which is a lot more common sometimes have stick problems. I use Style XP a lot and don't have stick problems. The cure for this is to search for
    "iebvh3.dll" and rename it "iebvh3.old."

    Also as mentioned in a previous thread, when the status bar either stops appearing after it stuck consistently, or doesn't seem to be working well (the progress bar falters)--this can be used as a symptom your system could use a reboot.

    That's all I have. Hope this helps.

    SMBP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •