Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    Hi Sparky:
    I would think that the font size would be reflected in Print Preview, but I could be wrong. Have you checked the printer drivers? That seems like the most likely cause.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Print preview (Word 2002 SP-2)

    I'm sure this will have come up before, but since I can't search...

    When printing a large document (100+ pages) from Word 2002 on XP, the printed page breaks do not correspond to the breaks shown in Print Preview (established by carriage returns, rather than inserting page breaks - doh!). If I can't find a way to fix this for the user (Finance Director, big cheese), then the poor receptionist will spend tomorrow morning inserting page breaks. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    I can only think that there is a size difference between the font (Times New Roman) on the users machine and the installed font on the printer (network printer - Oki - on Win2k print server via network card), maybe?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    Just installed the printer on new print server today with latest driver for 2000 & XP, downloaded from Oki site.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Columbia MD USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    This is just a guess, but try going to Tools > Options > Compatibility, and in the Options list, and make sure that "Use Printer Metrics to Layout Document" is checked.....Arianna

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    Are you printing to the default printer?
    Preview is based on the "Default" printer <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    Hi Dave & Adrianna:
    Interesting. Thanks for posting this. I checked out both tips. It turns out that if you DON'T have Tools/Compatibility/Use printer metrics to lay out document checked (the default) then print preview always uses the default printer. If you DO have that option checked, then Word uses the printer's printer driver & you can see the difference in the document & in print preview. That's the second thing I learned about Word today...a good day. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    The document in question has to be on company letterhead, so is going to a colour printer rather than the default B/W laser. Is there an easy way to make preview correspond to the printer you want to use, without having to change the default printer?
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,852
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    I don't think you have to change the default printer - just the printer that Word is currently assigned to.

    To do this you go to the print dialog and change the selected printer to the one you wish to paginate for. Now click the X in the top right corner (Not the OK nor the Cancel buttons) of the Print Dialog. Word now remembers that it is expected to paginate for that printer and it will remain selected until Word is closed.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Columbia MD USA
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Print preview (Word 200 SP-2)

    And continuing Andrew's thought-- If Word doesn't repaginate after changing the selected printer, force a repaginate by going to Print Preview, rebuilding the table of contents, etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •