Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    You know the little box at the bottom of the page (when you're viewing a post or index in the Lounge) that says "View Post Number". In IE or Netscape 4.75, I can type a number in, click the button, & I'm taken to the post. I can't do that with Mozilla. Can other Mozilla users do it? If so, anyone know if there's a setting for it?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Hi Phil

    Yep....it works for me (ver 1.1a).....I copied your post number, went to a post in a thread in a different forum, pasted it to the "View Post Number Box" and hit 'Enter'.....faster than a speeding bullet....well, not quite......I was back at your post, albeit, in a new window. Had I held down the Control key when I hit 'Enter' it probably would have opened in a new Tab.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Does the button light up when you enter a number? If not, probably a script error, maybe about:javascript still shows the script errors?

    If the actual form submit doesn't work, that might be on the back end...

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Hmmmmm....the Control key thing didn't open the post in a new Tab....it still opened in a new Window......anyway, the "View Post Number Box" does work for me in Mozilla.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Hi Jefferson:
    No, the button doesn't light up. about:javascript doesn't do anything. I notice that you're using IE6, so I guess you don't know what settings might work in Mozilla, but if you have any ideas....

    Ken: Thanks for the feedback. Got any ideas as to what setting might control this?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    That's really strange that Ken can make it work. Way, way back at Moz 1.0 we had a small thread going about this topic cuz it wouldn't work for me then - and STILL DOESN'T now. And, I'm "all the way up to" version 1.3.1 so I sure would like to know the answer also. I thought those of us participating in the duscussion back then wrote it off as another one of thos IE things.....

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    I'm also using 1.3.1, and also do not have the functionality of that button. Interesting to note, my button is "lit", whether there is a number in the box or not.

    Maybe 1.1 was a good release to stick with ... <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    As we're all aware however, this is strictly volunteer at the lounge, and coding for each and every broswer would be a terrific, if not impossible task to be completed, without being paid, by one (or a few) individual(s).

    That's one little feature I'm not too worried about. I'll use IE if I MUST use it....
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    I agree with you, Chris - it's a super-trivia problem, that's why I wrote it off as one of those things. But the reason my curiosity now is how come Ken can get it to work in his environment? Hey Ken, you must have friends in hi places, huh?

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Hi Y'all

    Ho K......Here's what I done....Maybe it's something to do with the process.....
    1....I used the mouse to highlight the post number under the post "Re:" title, then pressed ctrl-c to copy to clipboard
    2....I then went to another post in another Forum/Thread using the links
    3....Scrolled to the bottom, put cursor in box (didn't notice any highlighting) and pressed ctrl-v to paste, then pressed Enter
    4....Voila...back to the target post.

    Unfortunately I'm at "work" now ( hmmmmm...I must be on cofee break at present, yep that's right, I'm on coffee break!!) and am relegated to using IE as my browser. Tonight I'll play with Mozilla a bit more and try to see why it works for me and not others.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Me again...

    Just realised what was meant by "the button lighting up".....As I recall, the button is lit by default in mozilla on my home computer....however, it is NOT lit in IE at work...it lights when I hit enter....but the function doesn't work, I don't go anywhere!!!!!

    Have a Great day
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    That's even stranger. With IE, Netscape, etc., pasting doesn't highlight the button. I must type something into the box, then the button appears slightly raised. Then I shift+tab to put the focus on the button & I press enter (or click the button). With Mozilla, whether I type or paste, whether I press enter or click, nothing happens. I cannot get the focus to be on the button.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    More info/confusion.....
    I tried the "View Post Number" function using IE at home and had the same experience as at work....then I realized that I should be clicking the button.
    .......but then, pressing "Enter" does work in Mozilla, clicking the button doesn't.....
    Also.....When I paste a "Post Number" from this thread into the box in a thread in the Internet Explorer forum, the appropriate post opens under the OB&EC header
    .............when I paste a "Post Number" from this thread into the box in a thread in the Outlook Express forum, the appropriate post opens under the Outlook Express header.

    I'm way over my head in this, and I seldom use the feature anyway. Maybe somebody who knows more about the workings of the site can experiment a bit and let us know what's going on.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Phil, You may wish to know that the Browser Only component of Mozilla - Firebird - has not had any trouble with the issue you mention through the last many months. You may wish to substitute Firebird 0.6 and Thunderbird (the Mail Only application) for Mozilla. I have been running them both happily for quite some time - both as default items. As I don't use either the HTML editor or the IRC component in Mozilla, I beleive that this has been saving me on "footprint". I should add that this is on Win2K, and not, for example, on Win98. HTH
    Gre

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    Thanks for this idea. As I don't use the HTML editor, nor do I use the IRC, I think I'll uninstall Mozilla & try Firebird & Thunderbird. Are they completely separate apps or can you open one from the other by clicking on the toolbar or using shortcut keys?

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla & View Post Number (Mozilla 1.2.1)

    They are completely separate apps. This is the price for dropping the other components. The only shortcuts would be Start Menue shortcuts such as Ctrl + Alt + F or Ctrl + Alt + T <g>. There is some very nice integration of the Address Book on the current Thunderbird release.

    BTW you will probably want to migrate your prefs.js file to each of the new apps. You can either do this by copying over the entire mozilla prefs.js file twice or splitting it between the two apps. (The latter course naturally makes more sense.) If you've gotten as far as setting up a user.js, then that can migrate quite happily also. Please feel free to tell me that you already know this very well - or post back if you want some more detail.
    Gre

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •