Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Windows 98 System Disk

I own three computers all running Windows 98 (one with SE). All came with the system installed and no "start up disk." Now as they get overloaded with software extensions, spyware, and other misc crap, I am running into problems. When I ask for help or to fix, I invariably get a response that includes reinstalling the system using the "start up disk that came with your computer." I don't have one for any of them. The system just came installed. Is there a way I can get one? How do I know it is valid? What about updates? When I use this disk will it wipe our everything on my existing hard drive? It seems everything I do to my system just causes more problems in the long run. Am I better served by just upgrading (UGGGH!) to Windows 2000, NT, or Me? I'm a novice and don't know (or really care) about all the bells and whistles. I just want to be able to do normal business tasks, email, internet etc. No games or music/video downloads. I'm very happy with Windows 98 (and I know how to use it). I really don't want to start learning a whole new system. So...can I get a disk from somewhere? Or should I bite the bullet and start over?

Banned Member
    Thanks

Re: Windows 98 System Disk