Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Memory Dump

  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Memory Dump

    <img src=/S/bubbles.gif border=0 alt=bubbles width=31 height=17> When windows 2000 Pro boots, it hangs at the Windows screen, and locks up the ol' IBM Think Pad. A message flashes by at the speed of light that says something like,... windows memory dump. Is there a setting or download or a fix "heck is there anything" to skip this step of the boot. Last Known Config, or safe mode, will not boot windows. He~l~P!! : )

    Mahalo
    hailey

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Memory Dump

    There should be more to that error. Without that it's hard to say.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Memory Dump

    there is actually more to the error, however it flashes by to fast : ) which has me stumped. Usually after connecting to the internet, you see a memory dump "flash" message, and then the computer will not boot past the windows splash screen.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Memory Dump

    Can you boot into setup from the Windows 2000 CD ROM?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Memory Dump

    yes,.. I have even re-installed,.which is now a "nekid" machine, with just windows 2000 and it machine still hangs after flashing some memory dump message.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Memory Dump

    OK, but what happened when you booted with the CD? Were you able to get into Setup? I presume you were since you've reinstalled.

    I'd recommend that you remove everything except for the video adapter and one stick of memory. Try the machine that way and see if it will get to the desktop. I suspect the system is experiencing a STOP error and automatically rebooting, but we need to find out what the STOP error is first - by preventing auto-reboot.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •