New Lounger
    Thanks

Strange but True (2000/sp3)

I made a procedure that uses three modules, each with one macro. The first copies the third to the normal template and calls the second. the second does some things and then calls the third in the normal template which attaches the normal template (thereby eliminating the calling macro) and renames the active doc. Here's the catch: When you run the procedure from the Macros dialog (Alt-F8) it works, when you run it from a keyboard shortcut, it works, but when you run it from a Tool Button it refuses to run the Normal template macro. I finally made a fourth short macro the run the first macro and used a tool button to run the fourth, and that works. Strange but true!!

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Strange but True (2000/sp3)

I'm not a VBA expert, but try deleting the tool button & recreating it, making sure it's saved in the correct template. Is it possible that either it was saved elsewhere (a global template or a document) or that you made changes in the path name used by the toolbar button after it was created?
    Cheers,

Thanks

The OnAction property for a CommandBar control stores more of the "path" to the procedure (e.g., ModuleName+ProcedureName or even ProjectName+ModuleName+ProcedureName). Apparently the Macros dialog and the keyboard shortcuts use the more old-fashioned "near-to-far" method, checking the most local context first and progressing from there until a matching macro is found.
    Attached Images Attached Images

New Lounger
    Thanks

I did that several times. The really strange part, that I guess was not made clear is that the first and second macros run but the call to the third macro (in the Normal template) does not get run.

New Lounger
    Thanks

The really strange part, that I guess was not made clear, is that the first and second macros run but the call to the third macro (in the Normal template) does not get run. Figure that out, if you believe it.

Thanks