Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    I cannot find any of the built-in Access 2002 Wizards. They are installed (acwztool.mde is in the Office folder). How do I start a wizard in 2002?
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    Which wizard do you want to start? If you're looking for the query wizard, select the query tab and then click on the New item in the menu. One of the choices is a list of wizards.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    FindDuplicates Wizard
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    Are you using 2000 or 2002? There is no query tab in 2002.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    Picky! All right then, click on the Queries item in the left panel of the database window. The rest remains as posted. The only "find duplicates" wizard is the Find Duplicates Query Wizard, which will be listed in the New Query dialog, regardless of version.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    >> the Find Duplicates Query Wizard, which will be listed in the New Query dialog,

    Charlotte,
    After clicking Queries under Objects in the Project form the right pane contains:
    Create function in designer
    Create view in designer
    Create store procedure in designer

    If I click New on the menubar I get the New Query dialog that looks like this:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    Apparently SQL linked tables need to be a bit less independent. Look what I found...

    http://office.microsoft.com/assistance/200...zardsinADP.aspx

    This works, by the way. The New Query dialog now contains the wizards. Gee wiz.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    You had neglected to mention that you were using an ADP, Kevin. That's a whole 'nother animal from an MDB so the answers would be different.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    This is what happens when you think you know what you're doing...

    Ok, let's start again. No assumptions this time.

    1) SQL Server tables in an Access 2002 adp file. The database format (for some unknown reason) is Access 2000.
    2) External .txt file with about 350 rows that need to be included in a table called Names.
    3) About 120 rows from the .txt file are already in Names. These duplicates should not be added to Names since they are aleady there.

    Ok, how do I append/merge/insert (whatever the correct term is) these records into Names so there are no duplicates?

    p.s. Thanks for your patience and assistance.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    In a nut shell, you want to join on the Names field between the data that is already there and the full set of data, and use an Outer Join, so you only add the ones that are not already in the table. In order to do this, you probably want to pull the full set of data into a temporary table, and do the join that way rather than trying to use a text file. This involves writing some moderately complex SQL statements, and the query tools in ADPs aren't too great. You might want to consider creating an MDB version where you can use the Query Design Tools (and the Wizards), and then rexporting the data back into SQL Server. If this all sounds like gibberish to you (I'm sleep deprived at the moment), post back and I'll try to make it clearer.
    Wendell

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Hollywood (sorta), California, USA
    Posts
    2,759
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    "There's no business like show bidness, there's no business I know...."

    Thanks for posting. I thought you were busy? Whata guy...

    Well, this saga has come to an end and I figured it out without having to write any SQL statements. I'm wiped out myself, but I promise to post back next week with the steps.
    Kevin <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/Kevin_sig.gif alt="Keep the change, ya filthy animal...">
    <img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2><img src=/w3timages/blackline.gif width=33% height=2>

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Find Duplicates Wizard (2002)

    Yep - gotta do another show in about 90 minutes, but finally decided it was time to see who was doing what on the Lounge. Actually it looks like most of the troops are sunning themselves on the beach or something.
    Wendell

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •