Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New Lounger
    Thanks

Check boxes (Access 97)

Does anybody know how to make a check box work in Access 97? Im a newbie when it comes to access!!! I can add the check box in the design view but when i open the form and try to check it, it wont tick!!! Once the box is ticked I want the info on the form to transfer into a new table. Can anybody please help me!!!!
    Cheers,
    Rob.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Check boxes (Access 97)

Check boxes are usually linked to a binary Yes/No field. There aren't often use to cause data to be saved or similar actions. When you use bound forms, data is automatically saved when you move to another record or close the form. Does this help?
    Wendell

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Is your form bound to a table (or query)? In other words, does the Record Source property of the form contain something?

If so, you can set the Control Source property of a check box to the name of a field of type Yes/No. The check box will automatically show the value of the Yes/No field (ticked = Yes / True, clear = No / False), and if the user ticks or clears the check box, this change will automatically be stored in the table when the user moves to another record or closes the form.

If your form is unbound (the Record Source property is empty), transfering data from the form to a table would involve writing VBA code. Although this is not extremely complicated, I wouldn't recommend it if you are a novice in Access. Bound forms are much easier.

New Lounger
    Thanks

Hey Hans thanks for the reply.