Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Redding, California, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    System Restore (XP Pro)

    Hi Guys, <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Me again <img src=/S/baby.gif border=0 alt=baby width=15 height=15>

    My problem today is:

    My System Restore is ignoring me. <img src=/S/broke.gif border=0 alt=broke width=31 height=23>
    I tried to restore back to the 5th, "restoration unsuccessful". <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15> I tried to restore back to the 8th, "restoration unsuccessful". <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> I tried the 10th, "restoration unsuccessful". <img src=/S/nuts.gif border=0 alt=nuts width=15 height=15> The 12th, "restor.... yada yada". <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> Then yesterday, "restor.........."! <img src=/S/beep.gif border=0 alt=beep width=15 height=15>

    Can anyone offer any thoughts on <font color=red>why</font color=red> my system restore refuses
    to restore for me? <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>

    I'm totally at a loss here. <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>

    HELP <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP Pro)

    Read these from Microsoft Microsoft # 302796

    I was also told you could turn it off and back on again, but I'm not sure if you would lose your Restore Points or not, so do so at your own risk.

    I do know that I have had to turn off my Virus Scanner and Firewall before to get it to restore. Don't ask me why because I'm not sure. I Just know it's worked for me before when I had problems.

    Also take a look at these two freeware Programs. They work much better then WinXP Restore, and very simple to use. ERUNT & NTREGOPT One will backup your Register and the other will Optimize it. They work hand in hand. I have been using them for along time. Read the Detailed Information on them before you Download and you will see why it works better then WinXP Restore.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP Pro)

    Baby G--

    It's frustrating but System Restore is not perfectly reliable and sometimes it just doesn't work. whichever flavor of Windows. Make sure you're logged in with Administrative Privileges. System restore keeps restore points for 90 days, then deletes automatically. If it grows to 90% of its available space, then it deletes the oldest until 25% is free--FIFO (first in; first out). If the system drive has less than 200MB of free space, or a non-system drive has less than 50 MB, XP syspends system restore while a file it's tracking is modified, deleted, copied on every drive--MS calls this "consistent freeze." The message you're getting often shows when the computer shuts down improperly, but not always because of this. It also can happen if the particular restore point you choose happens to be corrupt. One thing that will corrupt a restore point is after someone disables it, they enable it while installing a program. Try to close all documents and all programs before running it--I know you don't always get that choice particularly in a crash where you aren't able to get up to Windows.

    You've tried to restore to several points. When it's turned off, as Cowboydawg referenced you delete all restore points on the drive or drives where you turned it off. You don't get them back ever when you turn it on. Any changes you make with the Recovery Console are not monitored by System Restore. Dates in the previous month showing on the calendar appear grey even though they have restore points which confuses some people so move back a month to use those.

    Check that it's on and active two places. 1) System Properties make sure it's monitoring all your drives, and a check is out of the off box. Make sure you have enough disk space assigned--minimal is 240. 2) Go to the "services tab" of the System Config Utility by typing in "msconfig ' in the run box and see that it's checked.

    If you want to examine your restore points, run srdiag.exe which lives in the %systemroot%system32Restore folder.

    Keep in mind that for whatever reason, those restore points you tried the 5th, 8th, 10th, 12th, are very probably corrupt unless for some reason the service wasn't on or had been turned off and those points deleted or there wasn't enough space.

    Here's what I'd do:

    1) Try to run it in safe mode by starting your computer and tapping the F8 key.
    2) If this doesn't do it, then try to run it from the command prompt using this KB as reference:
    304449: HOW TO; Start the System Restore Tool From a Command Prompt in Windows XP

    Please post how you're doing.

    SMBP

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Redding, California, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP Pro)

    Hi Cowboy & SMBP <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29>

    First off let me say <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Thank You both <font color=red>very very</font color=red> much for the time you took and the advice & suggestions you gave me. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Cowboy, in response to your post. I haven't ever turned off my System Restore. In fact, I didn't even know that it was an option until a couple days ago when you two told me. I don't have a firewall, and my system restore has always ran without my anti-virus being turned off. I did go in and pause it though, and tried to run my System Restore again. And guess what I got told? Yep..."Restoration Incomplete!" <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15>

    I did, however, download the erunt & ntregopt and ran them both. How often do you have to run them? I need some kind of reminder to help me remember to run them. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Thank you for your help. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    SMBP - Thank you for the lengthy and easy to understand post. Sometimes I receive help, but I have not a clue what they're talking about, because they don't realize that I'm blonde, and sometimes I need a picture drawn. <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> That's an exageration (kinda), but the point being that your post was very informative, helpful, and in laymen's terms! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I usually close everything before I run system restore, because it reboots my computer anyway.
    I did as you suggested and went back to June 28, and 15th, then back to May 25th. And guess what it told me??? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> "Restoration Incomplete"

    I have lots of free space. I can't imagine that being the cause of this. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> My computer is always shut down by start > turn off computer > shut down. The only time this is not done, is when I get the blue screen (the "reboot" before I changed from automatic restart). And this only & almost always happens when I have hotmail open, and click a link that takes me to a "greeting" site. Go figure. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    I went to the "services tab" of the system config, and made sure the sys restore was checked. (which it was) I went to system properties, but I couldn't find where I could make sure it's monitoring all my drives, nor could I find anywhere that had anything to check or uncheck. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    In addition, I couldn't run "srdiag.exe". It said "Windows could not find "srdiag.exe". Check spelling & try again". I tried three times. I did all that was suggested in this thread, and tried 4 or 5 different dates from yesterday's dates, and the dang thing <font color=red>STILL</font color=red> told me "restoration Incomplete" <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

    I tried your suggestion & tried to run it in Safe mode, didn't work, so I tried running it from the command prompt, went and read KB 304449, & tried it again, <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> no change.

    <img src=/S/beep.gif border=0 alt=beep width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/scream.gif border=0 alt=scream width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/igiveup.gif border=0 alt=igiveup width=31 height=23>

    Any other suggestions? <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

    Thanks again for your help guys. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP Pro)

    I have yet to ask. Why are you trying to do a System Restore?

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP Pro)

    Baby G--

    Blonds are always very welcome. I was glad to learn about erunt and ntregopt from cbd and will look into those. What situation has caused you to need to use system restore? What's going on that you want to fix? Can you boot to Windows okay?

    When you say you "paused it" do you mean your anti-virus or system restore? Because if it's system restore and however you mean 'paused it' means turns it off, SR is intolerant to being stopped in that it will lose every restore point you have if it is. Some of what I included was meant so that we don't miss anything that could get in the way of making it work--I know it may seem a little superfluous.

    1) To find if it's monitoring your drives: Windows Key + Pause Break key>on System Properties>
    System Restore Tab>Make sure the check is out of the "Turn off System Restore" box. The look down to "Available Drives" and click each one and hit the "Settings" button and it'll give you the slider you can set for space--max is 12% and that's a lot. (See image below). This'll probably make your day--at 12% it's #1 on the Billboard Top 100 List of Notorious XP Disk Hogs nosing out such stiff competition as the Recycle Bin (max 10%), Temporary Internet Files, Paging File, and Hibernation File--but it uses the space you give it with the slider or it gets allotted when you're running out only as necessary. Odds are you're probably fine there but I just wanted to check it.
    More System Restore Screen Shots Here

    2) "SRDIAG.EXE" is run by finding it in the %systemroot%system32Restore folder and it's purpose is to help you examine your restore points (it isn't run from any of the command lines)--it creates a CAB file in that folder but examining these isn't needed to make it work or not for you.

    3) Re-enabling System Restore:

    I don't know if there is some systemic reason why your System restore isn't working (it doesn't always and it has camps that scoff at it). I always try it and it got me out of a jam recently when I couldn't boot and I ran it from Safe Mode with a dos Prompt, so I'll never say it can't be very helpful.
    What I'm getting at here is that you may need to renenable if for future use but either it's being quirky and not working or you have the bad luck to have all the restore points you're trying corrupt for some unknown reason. You may not be able to use it for this problem and that's why I want to know what's up with your system so we might be able to fix the problem some other way.

    Make sure System Restore is re-enabled this way: In run box type "gpedit.msc" to Start Group Policy Editor (which you can do because you have Pro).> Navigate to Computer Configuration/Administrative Templates/System/System Restore Set Turn off System Restore and Turn off Configuration to Disable>Right click on My Computer and Select Manage>Navigate to Services and Applications/Services>Navigate to System Restore Service and double click>On the General tab set [Startup Type] to Automatic using the drop down list>Click the Start button to start the service.>Close the Computer Management console>Return to System Restore in Group Policy Editor and configure both to Not Configured>Close Group Policy Editor and reboot the system. After the reboot is complete, right click My Computer, select Properties and the tab for System Restore will have been restored. Configure it to your individual needs and satisfaction.

    I checked System Restore Articles MSKB and came up with no further help. You can check out these from the list:

    302796: Troubleshooting System Restore in Windows XP
    812119: Windows System Restore Utitlity Quits and All Restore Points are Deleted (Real Player Known Conflict)
    812119: Support Web Cast: System Restore and Remote Assistance in Windows XP

    4) You Could Always Try Last Known Good Configuration:

    Let me know what you're trying to fix and also you could try Last Known Good Configuration which corrects instability or driver problems by reversing the most recent system and driver changes within a hardware profile. But when you use LKG, you lose all configuration changes made since you last started your system because that's when LKG updates--so if it's been a good while since you started and had a stable system you want, this may not be for you. Logging onto your computer in Safe Mode does not impact or update the LKG set. To use it take everything out of your computer in the way of floppies or CD's and restart, press F8 when prompted or after firmware screen and before XP pro displays graphical output. Click on Last Known Good Configuration. Remember: If whatever is causing the problem happened after you restarted, you don't want to try Last Known Good but I don't think that's the case here. Last Known Good has one other disadvantage--it doesn't work a high percent of the time.

    SMBP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •