2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Capturing the send event (Outlook XP)

Hello, I am new to Outlook programming. I want to display a form when the user presses send in Outlook. What event is that? Is there an AutoSend event?

Also, how do I refer to the current e-mail in Outlook. Is there an ActiveItem property, as in Word there is the Activedocument property?

Thanks.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Capturing the send event (Outlook XP)

The Outlook Application object has an ItemSend event. You can handle it as follows:
    Switch to the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11).
    Make sure that the Project Explorer is visible (Ctrl+R).
    Expand Microsoft Outlook Objects.
    Double click ThisOutlookSession.
    Select Application from the Object dropdown list in the module that appears.
    You'll get the "skeleton" for the ItemSend event procedure:

Private Sub Application_ItemSend(ByVal Item As Object, Cancel As Boolean)

End Sub

Item is a reference to the mail being sent; you can inspect its Subject property, for instance.
    Cancel is False by default, but you can set it to True to prevent the item from being sent.

Example (more or less from the online help):

Private Sub Application_ItemSend(ByVal Item As Object, Cancel As Boolean)
    If MsgBox("Are you sure you want to send " & Item.Subject & "?", _
    vbYesNo + vbQuestion, "Sample") = vbNo Then
    Cancel = True
    End If
    End Sub

The "active item" is ActiveInspector.CurrentItem. Be careful, this will raise an error if no item is open, so you must test if it is Nothing:

If Not (ActiveInspector.CurrentItem Is Nothing) Then
    MsgBox ActiveInspector.CurrentItem.Subject
    End If

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Hans,

Many thanks - that worked. Now I need to know how to save and distribute the code.
    The template with the code is saved as
    COCUMENTS and SETTINGS<USERNAME>APPLICATION DATAMICROSOFTOUTLOOKvbaproject.otm.