Star Lounger
    Thanks

Ie6 and Java (XP Professional)

Hi All,
    I am Trying to build a web site using Fusion7 everything uploads but when I access the site i get a message Microsoft virtual Machine required cant find it anywhere as i believe i have to install it on Xp. I ran my Norton Internet Security to check a blocked attacked that advised me i also need java and asked me to download Sun Java, this works fine with Norton but causes my System to show a black Screen and freeze when i view my web site also the Java Aplet does not run,in this case a ticker tape the only way out is to reboot, i am new to Webs and Java anyone any Ideas

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Ie6 and Java (XP Professional)

Hi Les--

You can scan for it here because they discontinued their freestanding download site. They are going to discontinue all support and security updates on January 2004. I'm not sure of the reason for your Java Freeze--you can search it google groups, but I'd just uninstall it and use MVM while you can and migrate, or uninstall it and try to reinstall the appropriate version of Java VM you need with the links below:

Find Windows Updates: Microsoft Virtual Machine for ME/2000, XP Through Windows Update

Microsoft Virtual Machine and Sun Java Virtual Machine Download Links Available Here at www.java-virtual-machine.net/download.htm

Also see:
    Visual Ware Java Support
    How to get a JAVA VM

VM Context and Some Legal Background

Sun and MS were involved in lengthy litigation that is still ongoing, with the latest decision in the Fourth Circuit. In short, there was an a settlement with Sun in 2001 that after Jan. 1, 2004 MS could no longer support the a MS VM. MS no longer includes it nor do they include Microsoft Visual J++. The Baltimore Division District Court of Maryland issued an order for MS to distribut Java Runtime environment with XP Operating Systems. MS appealed, and secured a stay of the order from the Fourth Circuit now in effect.