Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Continuous Forms (A2k)

    I have a subform set to continuous form view. I've got a minimum of 2 records and a maximum of 3 records in the subform for each main form record. Each subform record has 2 columns (Class Name and Class Category). I'm only being able to view one record on the subform at a time, and I want to be able to see all of them at once. I believe I've addressed this before, but cannot find the post with the answer.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    Open the main form in design view.
    If necessary, move controls below the subform down by an inch or so.
    Click once (and only once) on the subform within it. If you click inside it a second time, you will select something within the subform, you don't want that now. If you click twice accidentally, click outside the subform, then try again.
    You will see the familiar resize handles at the corners and in the middle of the sides.
    Use the one in the middle of the bottom side to increase the height of the subform.
    You will have to find the ideal height by trial and error.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    I couldn't get that to work. I'm attaching my DB. I've changed quite a few things since you last looked at it. If and when you get a chance-would you take a look at it, especially my table relationships. I've got my pricing matrix in now, but not sure how to connect it with everything else. Currently I have two comboboxes on my sbfBilling that link to the tblPricing, but it doesn't seem efficient. I think it's redundant.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    OOPS forgot the attachment
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    The reply to your original question consists of two parts:

    1. The Default View property of sbfStudentClasses is set to Single, instead of Continuous.
    2. The Detail section of sbfStudentClasses is much too high, it contains a lot of unused space. So even if you set the form to Continuous, you'll still see only one record, unless you decrease the height of the Detail section.

    I'll have a look at the structure later on.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    And here is the database with a few changes.
    <UL><LI>I removed the price field from the Billing table - you can retrieve it from the Pricing table once you know the student/product type.
    <LI>I changed the student type field in the Billing table from a text field to a numeric field, otherwise you can't link it with Pricing.
    <LI>I created a relationship between the Billing and Pricing tables on the student/product type fields.
    <LI>I changed the row source of sbfBilling to get the price from the Pricing table.
    <LI>The price therefore is no longer a combo box, but a (locked) text box.[/list]I also removed several duplicate indexes.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    I normally agree with Hans but I must add <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15> on the following from Hans:
    I removed the price field from the Billing table - you can retrieve it from the Pricing table once you know the student/product type.

    If you wish to change prices in the pricing table then the billing prices will change too. If you want to keep a history of what the price was at the time of billing then you will need the price in the billing table.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    You're correct, Pat, but this is for a one-time conference, so I suppose that the price for participation will be fixed. On the other hand, if Gabi or whoever will use the database wants to be able to make exceptions to the fixed pricing, the price will need to be in the Billing table too. It can be filled originally from the Pricing table.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    Thanks Hans, it looks great. Couple of questions for you:

    Will I be able to override the price of any individual participant type? In some cases the registration is comp'd, or price reduced for any number of reasons.

    Now that the form(s) is/are set up correctly, how should I set up my confirmation email receipt? I would like to put a command button on the main form to email it directly, but if I remember from previous posts I would need to use the table of participants as a data source and merge to a word doc, bla bla bla. I saved the instructions from a Microsoft Article you pointed me to, in the event that I need to do it that way. I just need some seasoned advice on how to best to go about this.

    Thanks again!

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by HansV on 23-Jul-03 00:40. Forgot attachment the first time...)</P>Hi Gabi,

    >> Will I be able to override the price?

    That is what Pat meant. In the version I posted, you can't, but here is one with the student price reinstalled. The default price is flled in when you select a student type from the combo box, but you're free to modify the price after that.

    There are several ways you could send an e-mail receipt, depending on what you want. It can be created directly in Access as the body of a simple text e-mail, or as an attachment in the form of an .rtf file (that can be opened in Word). If you want it to be a Word document with nice formatting, a mail-merge to Word is better, but it is also more complicated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    What I want it to do is pull the participant's personal info from the tblParticipants, the class info from the tblStudentClasses, the payment info from the tblBilling. (Which brings to mind that I'm going to need to add classes, as 5 of them run on Friday as well as Saturday).

    So basically what they will have is a receipt of registration with their class schedule. Can this be accomplished by using a query each time I register a participant and show the results of the query in the form of a report that can be emailed? If so can I set the click event of a command button to perform both of these tasks?

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    You should
    1) Create a query that gathers the needed information from various tables, and restrict it to the participant displayed on your form (you can refer to the form in the criteria, for example Forms!frmParticipants!pkStudentID - I typed this without looking at the database)
    2) Create a report based on the query.
    3) Use DoCmd.SendObject to send the report by e-mail - look up SendObject in the online help.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    Thanks, I'll work on it tomorrow.

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    I'm starting to work on my query, and have a question:

    Are there any fields from each table that MUST be included in the query in order for it to behave properly? I'm tempted to put them all in and not show the ones that I don't need displayed, but I don't think that's the right way to go about it. This is my first query building experience so please, as usual, have patience! <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Continuous Forms (A2k)

    Hi Gabi,

    If possible, include only the fields you need in the report and for the selection criteria. It doesn't really hurt if you include more fields than strictly necessary, but for the fields on which you join the tables, it's best to include only one of them, in particular if they have the same name in both tables. Having two fields with the same name in a query leads to unexpected results.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •