Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    OK, I'm in a total panic. I have a database that I've been building for weeks. I just did a compact and repair which went fine and split the tables off. I went to open up one of the tables to check on something and got a white screen and a microsoft error report. Access then creates a backup file. I've never had this happen before and even went to other databases I have on my computer to see if the problem exists and it doesn't so it seems specific to this database. I've tried to do a compact and repair and it won't complete as I get the same MS error message to send the report. I've also noticed when I go into Explorer (after the database is closed) the original one is there but so is one with a lock on it as if the program is still open. I can open the tables from the .be file but this doesn't solve my issue. I've made it a habit to create copies of the database as I work on it and the one previous to this one, without split tables appears OK, however I've done a great deal of work since I saved it yesterday and would like to not redo it or remember everything I did.

    Please God I hope someone has a fix for this. It's not been a good day to begin with and this is crushing me.

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Hi Leesha,

    This is extremely annoying, yet try to stay calm. Panicking isn't going to rescue the database.

    1. See if any .ldb files got left behind in the same folder as the database. If so, delete them. If Windows won't let you delete them, restart your PC, then try again.
    2. Make one or more copies of the databases you have now. If something goes completely wrong later on, you'll still have the copies.
    3. Create a new blank database and try to import everything from the problem database into it. In the worst case, you won't be able to import anything, but with some luck, you'll get part or even all of it.
    4. You posted a database at the request of Dave Willett in <post#=276842>post 276842</post#>. Perhaps that contains some of the work you did today?

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Hi Hans, I'm so relieved you're around!

    >>1. See if any .ldb files got left behind in the same folder as the database. If so, delete them. If Windows won't let you delete them, restart your PC, then try again.

    I've done this repeatedly. Each time I open the problem database one is recreated. I've restarted the computer 3 times.

    2. Make one or more copies of the databases you have now. If something goes completely wrong later on, you'll still have the copies.
    Have already done that.

    3. Create a new blank database and try to import everything from the problem database into it. In the worst case, you won't be able to import anything, but with some luck, you'll get part or even all of it.

    Am already starting to do that. I was hoping to avoid it and to avoid having to figure out what I need to recreate. I've done a lot on its since yesterday with queries, reports, forms etc. and God only knows what else.

    4. You posted a database at the request of Dave Willett in post 276842. Perhaps that contains some of the work you did today?
    Just one report. I stripped everything else to make it smaller.

    Leesha

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    I've now got multiple copies and a lot of work ahead of me. My observation is that each time I try to split the tables within the same folder the same problem happens. If I do it in a totally different folder I don't have a problem. My question is has anyone ever seen a folder and its contents corrupt? I'm stumped and as always need to understand why this happened.

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Sorry, I have never heard of this specific problem before.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Thanks anyway Hans. If you haven't heard of it then I haven't a chance of figuring it out. But, it's the only pattern I can't find. I din't know if something was being left behind that was corrupting the tbls.

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Unless you're doing something exotic with network folders, there should be no problem splitting a database in the same folder. Were you trying to use the wizard? If that is the situation, do the splitting manually instead of using the wizard.
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,615
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Hi Charlotte,

    Nope not doing anything exotic. And, I've never run into this before. Its the one area that hasn't given me a problem. I have however relied on the wizard to do it. Can you please point me in the right direction on how to do it manually.

    Thanks,
    Leesha

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    You can pretty much figure it out for yourself. Make a new database and import the queries, forms, reports, macros and modules into it. Don't forget any custom toolbars and any import/export specs that might be there. You don't need to worry about relationships because they live with the tables. Then create links to the tables in the old database from your new front end. Once you have things working as desired, you can remove the queries, forms, reports, etc. from the old database, which has become your backend now.

    You're most likely to get corruption in the database that contains code objects, so get them away from your data.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ? Corrupted Database (2000)

    Leesha

    I've had this a few times recently which is caused by not cleaning up your database correctly after design changes.

    <big>You Must</big> after each session, Debug & Compile your code, and also Compact & Repair.

    Remember the "Option Explicit" from a couple of weeks ago !! this is important.
    To try and rescue your DB try the following:-

    1.Open the database with the shift key.
    2.Go to any form and open the VB editor (Form should be in design mode)
    3.Debug and Compile your code.
    4.If you have any errors, fix them first. If you're sure what you are fixing ie Lines of code, REM the line out using an apostrophe (<big>'</big>)
    5.If the option to compile is ghosted, then add a line of code in the middle of any where using the apostrophe so the text is only a comment and turns green. I usually put something like:-
    '================23-07-2003
    This doesn't effect anything with your code, but is easily located later for cleaning up.
    When you go back to the Debug-Compile option, it should now not be ghosted and allow you to continue.

    6.Using the top menu, Save the database.
    7.Close the VB editor, again using the menu at the top.
    8.From the database window, Compact and Repair.

    These are the steps I take each time I have the problem, and it works for me.

    Remember, Back up regularly, Compile regularly, Compact regularly.

    Hope this helps !!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •