Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: BizMe Free?

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    BizMe Free?

    While waiting for my dial-up ISP contract to expire, I'm coping with the ever-present busy signal for those who call (at least, that's what my wife says when she calls). I recently came across BisMe Free as a possible temporary solution. Has anyone used it? If so, what do you think?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: BuzMe Free?

    New one on me. Clever using call forwarding as part of the logon process to intercept incoming calls. I guess they make money when you pick up the call ("airtime minutes" - first 15/mo. free, then purchasable @ 30 Minutes for $2.95, 60 Minutes for $4.95, 100 Minutes for $7.95, 150 Minutes for $9.95 with up to 3 months rollover). How much does the phone company generally charge for call forwarding - monthly flat rate or per call? Does this make any more sense than forwarding to a cell phone?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BuzMe Free?

    You're right. It doesn't make sense.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    800
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    Far be it from me to suggest AOL, but since you don't have broadband it couldn't hurt much more. They have a new Call Alert feature with AOL 8.0 I'm not sure how or if it works but it sounds like exactly something you're looking for.
    hope that helps
    have fun
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/33-312966-ldywolfsig.jpg> <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>
    Moderator
    www.theladywolf.com

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    Take a look at this: Callwave. Think the basic stuff is still <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15>. They have 'premium' services that cost. You may need to search around the site or contact them for the complete story.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    AOL???!!! Please, no! <img src=/S/groan.gif border=0 alt=groan width=16 height=15> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25> <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15> AOL <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26> <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26> <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    Hi, Joe ~

    Just a side note.....CallWave, even the "free" basic requires enabling by your local phone service at for a monthly fee.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    If you have a V92 modem and your ISP supports the V92 features then I think you can have CallerID notification of incoming calls and put your internet call on hold without buying any additional services. (See http://www.v92.com/faqs/ for more info)

    But I haven't used dial up for ages, and I don't know if the ISPs ever implemented V92

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    Hey Bruce, Yeah, now it is starting to come back to me. The charges from SBC were only about $1.00 per month. Less than what some of these folks want you to pay for the 'answering machine' itself.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    My ISP will connect via v92 modems; unfortunately, I have only a v56.

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    St. George, Maine, USA
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: BizMe Free?

    Look into Emerson Switchboard For Receiving Calls & Faxes While Online
    See: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/se...sp?EdpNo=506206
    All services and the black box require call waiting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •