Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    I don't know when this started, I can get mail but not receive. My OS is Win XP SP 1 Home Edition, and I am on a LAN (Comcast High Speed Internet Sevice).

    I'm brand new to XP and I am learning, by hit & miss - mostly miss, how to use it. OE was working fine last week, this week it's a different story.

    This is the error msg:Your server has unexpectedly terminate the connection. Possible causes for this include sever problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity.

    Account:mail. comcast.net Server: smtp.comcast.net Protocol: SMTP, Port :25, Secure (SSL); No, Error Number: 0x800CCC0f.

    Comcast can't find the problem. They had me delete info. in Accounts and put it back. I was also told to run sfc /scannow, which I did. This didn't fix the send problem either. I've re-installed IE6, with no fix for OE send.

    Microsoft can't help because Win XP was pre-installed on my new computer. If I can get help here, I won't have to go to Dell for assistance. Will someone please help me with suggestions that I haven't already tried.

    Thanks in advance.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    If your running Norton Anti Virus check this one out from Microsoft Knowledge Base #813514 If you are this is probably your problem.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Cowboy to the rescue of a maiden in distress. You never fail to answer my crys for help and I really appreciate it. I saw that article about a modem perhaps being the cause, but I don't use a modem. I'm on a LAN Network.

    I went to the KB and didn't find a thing related to my problem and one of the searches was entering the error message and got no results. Oh well, this has not been one of my better days.

    I read the article in Tiscali Help and it refers to a modem too.Tried to use their e-mail tech support, but you have to take one of the services they offer.

    I've printed KB article 813514, will follow the instructions in the light of day, later this A.M. Thank you for pointing me to the article, I'll be sure to let you know if it works or not.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Hi, Duch ~
    <hr> I can get mail but not receive<hr>
    Isn't that the same thing? <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Okay, you say that Comcast is not the problem and you have re-entered all your info correctly with periods instead of commas, 'SMTP' not commonly misspelled 'STMP', your correct password in the correct case and they are not using non-standard port numbers so you are putting in the right port number of 25.

    I am not on a LAN, but check if there may be a button selection that will cause your session to terminate after pulling your mail messages.

    SMTP authentication is configured for sending emails. Without this you would not be able to send outgoing mails at all. This is to prevent spammers from sending through an otherwise open relay. Your account is authenticated one of two ways: the first by simply picking up your mail first - this leaves a temporary window for the relay to remain open for you to send. If you notice, OE always tries to send first, then receive. Have a message ready to send, go retrieve your mail, then send by 'Tools' > 'Send and Receive' > 'Send All'.

    The other way is by checking 'My server requires authentication' under 'Outgoing mail server' and the related settings on the 'Servers' tab of the Account Properties.

    Failing the above, if you are using Zone Alarm, Norton Personal Firewall (NPF) or Norton Internet Security (NIS), you will need to read this Symantec bulletin as they will facilitate generating that particular error code.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Duchess--

    I know this one. I fixed it 3 weeks ago. I never had it until the switch from attbi.com to comcast.net on June 30 and that could be around the time this started for you. This error message has to do with the configuration of the firewall in either Norton Personal Firewall or Zone Alarm. Of course if you have Norton Internet Security you have NPF.

    You can fix it with the first link below to the Symantec KB. If you tell me which version of either Zone Alarm or NPF, or NIS you're using I'll give you the precise steps I used to make it go away. If you have any trouble at all fixing this after you read the Symantec KB Linked below for OE, just holler.

    Often Comcast tells people to turn off antivirus protection for email, or to lose their firewall, and I had no trouble coming up with words I thought described how I really felt about the advice. They referred me to the Microsoft KB below, but my problem with that is that I didn't want to turn off email viral scanning, although I suppose you could scan email manually, and I sure didn't want to turn off script blocking--and if you don't then the KB tells you to try Symantec for help--and that's what I did.

    To the problem-- Look at these guys I found in Symantec's KB--the one below is the one that will get you fixed without turning off any part of your Antivirus --you just have to tweak either your Norton or Zone Alarm firewall--whichever you have.

    Error: "Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. . . " in Outlook Express

    Error: "Outlook is unable to connect to your incoming (POP3) e-mail server" when checking for mail on MS Outlook XP

    I put the Outlook up ( a variant) because it's similar and someone could have it with Outlook. This is the Microsoft's Solution which is to turn off antivirus email scanning and script blocking--these are two reasons you bought NAV and you don't have to do what the KB below suggests if you reconfigure your firewall per Symantec's KB. That way you don't compromise AV or Firewall protection and you fix the error and the mail receive problem in OE.

    813514: OL: Error 0x800ccc0d or 0x800ccc0f When Receiving and Sending E-Mail

    BTW Comcast's little download to automatically switch your email configuration has malware that swtiches your homepage to comcast.net and ghosts out the ability to do anything about it and changes 3 registry keys. It's no big deal unless you mind your homepage being switched--some do--but I have a little toolbar on the desktop where I can do my searches from and put in url's so other than resenting the intrusion it didn't matter. An Adaware scan knocks it out, allows your registry keys to rever to normal, and then your homepage is unhijacked. (See screenshot below of the little bad boys).

    With all respect to Dell, in my experience it would have been rare to have had effective help from them for this.
    Let me know if you have any questions.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    I do NOT have Norton Personal Firewall. I DO have Zone Alarm Pro with Web Filtering, version 4.0.123.012. True Vector and Driver have the same one.

    I obtained copies of all the suggested pages, except
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    That phrase does sound a little redundant now that I look at it, but Bruce, you know what I meant and how I should have phrased it. I could have said that I can receive mail but not send mail. Would that have been better?

    There is no button or otherwise that terminates my session. I've never noticed if it sends or receives first, but if this is ever corrected, I'll be sure to pay attention to what comes first, the chicken or the egg. <img src=/S/angel.gif border=0 alt=angel width=15 height=21>

    I contacted Comast by phone and was lead through the account setup. The strange thing about this is that OE was working perfectly 3 days ago and had been working for over a year. Therefore my account settings can't be entered incorrectly, besides if they were then how could my new mail download?

    I've worked with two different Comcast techs and neither could suggest a fix. It's such as strange situation that Comcast is sending a tech to my house. If he finds a solution I'll be certain to post it here.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Bruce K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,876
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Hi, Duch ~

    Did you visit the link I posted in the reply above? If you haven't, it covers the Zone Alarm issue of which you speak.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    I have Norton's System Works 2003, the whole suite. If you can, read my post to Bruce dated July 23, 2003. I have a Comcast tech coming to my home in the morning to take a look at what's happening with my computer and Outlook Express.

    Don't rush to find reference material for the fix until the tech is gone. If he fixes OE than you nor I will have to do anything else. It will save you a lot of searching and frustration, I will let you and Bruce know what transpires.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Yes, Bruce, I have it printed right in front of me. I'll work on it later today, too tired to try it now.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    I posted the same link Bruce because I had the same problem 3 weeks ago and had to reconfigure Norton Firewall and the problem went bye bye. But if you read the KB on the link, for people with Zone Alarm, it only has one short suggestion, and that's to "disable pass lock" in ZA--which won't help her because she never enabled it. So to fix Duchess here, one of us needs to find a news group archive searching google groups or something on ZA's site that will offer a way to tweak it and that'll do it. I will later when I have a chance I'll do this, or you can--and I'll take a look at what I did to Norton's firewall and see if I can extrapolate--I remeber I had to change some settings and that link's KB didn't correspond exactly but it only took a minute to do.

    I don't have ZA, but I'm sure there are screenshots all over the web if someone needs them.

    SMBP

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Dutchess--

    I'm going to search Comcast's site and you might as well for the error--sometimes they have a fix and that their HSI Support which is Convergys wouldn't have seen it is not surprising--there are a lot of them and some of them are notified and some aren't --you'd think there would be a central KB like Dell and MS keep but...

    I looked all over Zone Alarm's site and found nothing.

    I drilled Comcast's site in every category--they have nothing resembling a KB or recent bugs that I found useful and search on all their pages yields zip. . I called Comcast to see what they would say and they know about the MSKB and the error translated means they can tell you to negate the very reason you buy Norton Antivirus and were cluless to anything that had to do with Norton or Zone Alarm--the very piece of information they need to have.

    Take a look at Zone Alarm though and see if there's anything comparable to this that you could do with Zone Alarm, because this only took me a literal minute with Norton Personal Firewall in Norton Internet Security:

    This is what I did to Norton's Firewall to Fix this--it took me about 60 seconds:
    __________________________________________________ ___________________________
    1. Go into Preferences or Firewall--I can't see it but there aren't that many places you can go ZA. Go to where you have options to tweak the firewall and its ports and also can "Add" sites to let in or block. Keep in mind that on ZA the names may differ slightly than what's here.
    2. Click Configure. You see several tabs.
    3. Click the Program Control tab.
    4. Locate the entry "Microsoft Outlook Express" in the Program list.
    If the entry for "Microsoft Outlook Express" under the heading "Internet Access" is set to Automatic, then changing this rule will not solve the problem. Continue with step 5.
    If the Internet Access is not set to Automatic, click the arrow beside the setting, and then click Automatic.
    5. Locate the entry Pop3trap.exe in the Program list.
    If there is no entry for that file, test Outlook Express to see whether the problem is solved. If it is not solved, continue with the next section.
    If there is an entry for the file, click the entry, and then click Modify. You see a list of rules.
    6. Configure the Pop3trap.exe rule:
    a. In the "What do you want to do?" box, choose "Manually configure internet access," and then click OK.
    b. Click the rule for Pop3trap.exe, and then click Modify.
    c. Verify that the settings are set to Permit, and that they allow traffic to and from your computer.

    SMBP

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Hi Duchess--sorry I couldn't get to the lounge until late.

    I don't have Zone-Alarm--what I have that had to be changed to avoid the problem and I only had it after Comcast did their switch as I said is Norton Internet Security 2003--so I changed Norton Personal Firewall. I could send a message and receive fine--but the error box kept coming up and was annoying--so I had one half of your problem. I'm sure you have the dialogue boxes configured correctly--it boils down to your getting Zone-Alarm correctly configured.

    Now that I know that I'm dealing Zone Alarm and that you don't have "pass-lock enabled" with in conjunction with the OE error, I see that these KB's aren't going to help us either from Symantec or the MSKB. The problem I have with the MSKB is it only offers you to turn off your Norton Antivirus mail scan and script blocking, and those are two features I want you to be able to keep on if you have NAV which I think you have from a post or two you did a few months ago, but correct me if my memory's fuzzy.

    Give me a little time to hit Zone-Alarm's KB, FAQ's or resources and to go back to OE MSKB and group archives to what I now see as a ZA/OE problem causing this error. I fixed mine by following the exact directions in the first linked KB (from Symantec even if the error message number was slight off and they had Norton Personal Firewall's tabs a little off--it worked). Now I have to fix it with a Zone-Alarm change. Aren't you using either NAV 2002/or 2003 or Norton System Works 2002/2003--just want to know for "completeness?" Thanks for the ZA Version--it'll help me in my search.


    Will get back.

    SMBP

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    Hi Bruce,
    Outlook Express is working once again, both in and out bound mail work perfectly, for the time being anyway. After working with three Comcast techs and one home visit, no one could find the problem nor a solution. All the house visiting tech could advise was to use another e-mail program.

    After he left I took your and several other people's good advice to disable Zone Alarm so it wouldn't start with Windows. That did the trick, after a reboot all mail in my outbox went flying to their destinations. Now I have to find a way to make OE and ZA work together, till then I've settled for my mail program.

    I have Norton's scanning both in and outbound mail, and that should be enough if I'm careful about where I go on the Web and what mail I open.

    I thank you for all the work you've done and as I usually sign-off a problem, consider this thread FIXED.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can receive, Can't Send (OE 6.0 SP1)

    SMBP, I thank you too for the way you tried to help. You were prepared to go the last mile, I see by your last post. Relax now and have a cold beer on me if I knew where to send it.

    Read my post to Bruce, you'll see how the problem was fixed. Case Closed.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •