Star Lounger
    Thanks

check for related record in another table (97) (97)

Hi. i'm a rookie and would like to know how to check if a record in one table has a related record in another (ie. unique identifier in record from first table = unique indentifier in a record from table 2)? thanks, Van

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: check for related record in another table (97) (97)

It depends on how and where you want to do this.

If you want to create a query that shows which records don't have a match:
    <UL><LI>Click 'New' in the Queries tab of the database window.
    <LI>Select the 'Find Unmatched Query Wizard' and click OK.
    <LI>In the first step, select the "one" table. Click 'Next'.
    <LI>In the second step, select the "other" table. Click 'Next'.
    <LI>In the third step, select the unique identifier on both sides and click '< = >'. Then click 'Next'.
    <LI>In the fourth step, select each of the fields you want to display and click >. Then click 'Next'.
    <LI>In the last step, change the name of the query if you like, and specify whether you want to see the design or the result. Then click 'Finish'.[/list]If you want to create a query that shows which records have a match, create a query based on both tables and join them on the unique identifier. Add the fields you want to see to the query grid. Then switch to datasheet view.

If you would like something else, post back.

Star Lounger
    Thanks

thanks Hans, but that's not what i'm after. In form view (looking at a single record), i'd like to be able to have a flag which would either be visible or not depending on whether or not this person has another record in another table. the unique identifier (primary key) I am using is called "UR#". thanks. Van

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks for the clarification. Let's say the the "other" table is named tblOther, and that UR# is a numeric field.