Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dual boot

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    dual boot

    Currently I'm running the Arabic/English version of Win98 and am far from pleased with it. A friend is running the Arabic/English version of WinME, and it's a vast improvement over Win98.

    I'd like to reformat, etc. and have Arabic/English WinME with Office 2000 and have Win98 English only with Office 97.

    Can I do a dual boot with WinME and, if so, what are some possible challenges to anticipate?

    Scott

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    You can pull it off, but since Win9x wants to be the only operating system on a given PC, you'll need third party software to do it, such as BootMagic, Boot Commander, or similar.

    Make sure that you install each OS into something other than the default WINDOWS subdirectory, such as WIN98 and WINME, so that the system files do not overwrite each other (among other ugly nasties).

    Good luck.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newark, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    you can dual a 98 and a 2k, but you need to install 98 first, then when you install 2k, it will ask if you want to upgrade or make it dual boot.(in so many words) I've had 98, 2k and NT server on one machine....
    Mike Wolfman
    Jack of all, Master of none
    Bow before me, for I am root.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tfiles/112673-wolfsig.jpg>

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    Thanks for the tip and advice/warning... I figured WinME would wanna be boss.

    Would it make a difference if I did installs of C:Win98 with a D:WinMe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    That's a good idea... my main concern, however, is solving the challenges of the Arabic/English Win98. WinMe does a super job with this type of langauge switching.

    Thanks for the heads-up... thinking of doing another dual boot on another machine and will remember this.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    If you install to D: that's fine - a word of caution (?) that may save you some grief down the road.

    A lot of software, even in this day and age, is hard-coded or assumes that you will install on C: no matter what. Some apps insist on installing there, others seem to work better if you install them there (Office for example, which I had unbelievable and duplicatable problems with after changing the default install path).

    You can rectify this up front with TweakUI by setting the Program Files directory right after you install. Remember, there's an updated version out there that's ME compatible, and also works with 98. I would strongly recommend that you grab a copy, isntall it, and set some defaults for each OS after you install it.

    Good luck!!
    -Mark

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    Thanks for the wise word of caution!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger gsterry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    West Virginia or South Africa
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: dual boot

    Regarding the dual boot, I have managed to have a physical switch instead that has wires running to the jumper pins of two separate physical hard drives.

    A flip down sends me to an English-only Win98 with Office 97 while flipping the switch up causes WinME to boot. FWIW, the flip has to come from a cold boot.

    Almost like having two machines in one :-)

    Thanks, gang, for all of your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •