Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Won't Load

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Won't Load

    Win 98 won't load on my Toshiba portable. It gets to the 98 Logo screen and freezes. Safe mode didn't work either. I can NOT access a CD-ROM on this machine only a floppy. What's wrong & what can I do? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't Load

    Did you have it on there before? What size Proccessor does your Laptop have? I have never tried to Install Win98 without a Cd-Rom myself so this is new to me.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't Load

    Do you mean the laptop won't BOOT from a CD or is the CD drive inoperable, period? Are you trying to INSTALL from a floppy? I've never seen Win98 on a floppy before. If the problem is that the machine won't boot from a CD, that shouldn't be a problem. If you have, or get a copy of, a boot floppy that loads the CD drivers, you should be able to run the installer from the CD or copy all the install directory files to a temporary directory on the hard drive and install from there. You need to tell us more details.....

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't Load

    No, I mean that there is no possibility of using a CD-ROM with this machine -- it did not come with a CD-ROM drive. Any fixes would have to be done using the HDD or floppy. Win 98 used to load and run just fine, it stopped all of a sudden when trying to access a Zip drive, then wouldn't reboot. Again, it stops at the 98 window icon screen and won't go past that even if loading in safe mode. My guess is that some driver is corrupt. If I could figure out which one I might be able to use my desktop to copy the driver to a floppy from the internet or from a CD-ROM and then copy that file onto the portable's HDD from the floppy. I can get the protable to boot into DOS.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't Load

    OK, no CD drive. How was Win98 installed on the HDD in the first place? I don't know if you did it or not, so what I'm trying to see is if the installer files might already be on the drive so you could run an "on top of itself" re-install. Lots of OEMs and even individuals like me, copy ALL the OS installation files into a directory on the HDD for future use. Sometimes the files are in a subdirectory like C:windowscabs..

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    262
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't Load

    It came from Toshiba with the OS installed. What should I do (in DOS since I can't get into Win98) to see if files are there? Or to find out what file is the problem and then see if I can copy it over via floppy?

  7. #7
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't Load

    Have you tried a Restore to an earlier Date? Reboot and hit F8 key and go to Dos Prompt. Type in scanreg /restore { make sure you leave a space between scanreg and / } and hit enter. At that screen choose a date before this happened and follow the directions. Hope this helps.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't Load

    <hr>... It came from Toshiba with the OS installed... <hr>
    Boy, I haven't seen a laptop without a CD drive ever since CDs became popular. I think it's "the law" that a computer manufacturer is required to provide the operating system and some kind of "recovery" method when they sell a machine. Are you sure you didn't get a floppy disk to boot from in an emergency? If so, there might be a README file or something on that diskette if you don't have any printed emergency recovery instructions. Since you do still have access to the 'Net, why don't you try writing to them with the model number to see what they tell you to do, or maybe you can download a utility from their site. Now, 'bout the task of "looking around" while in DOS. If Cowboy's suggestion doesn't help, boot the machine to DOS again. If it doesn't start at the C: prompt, type the following commands, pressing ENTER after each:

    c:
    cdwindows
    dir /ad /p

    If the hard drive is capable of getting that far, you should get a multi-screen list of subdirectories under the Windows directory. You're looking for one that's typically called CABS, where most OEMs put a copy of the operating system files. Come back.....

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Won't Load

    <hr><center> <font color=blue>it stopped all of a sudden when trying to access a Zip drive</font color=blue> </center><hr>

    Is there a Zip drive installed on this machine ?? Unusual that there's no CD but there is a Zip. Is it an external using the parallel port ?? If it is installed and working, you could copy the Windows 98 CD to a zip disk (it's only 89MB if memory serves me) and then install from there.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •