I am hoping someone has a technical answer to why Windows 2000 creates a second user profile under the Documents and Settings folder for a laptop user when they work offline?

Example User: Joseph.Smith
Normal profile stored in Documents and SettingsJoseph.Smith

After disconnecting from the network and logging in offline (still choosing the corporate domain - but able to login due to cached credentials), it creates a second profile named:
Cocuments and SettingsJose~Smith

This directory only contains Local~1Temp - so basically temporary files, but the profile directory remains, and never gets cleaned up.

I am looking for a technical explanation of why this is created, and if there is a way to prevent it, or should I just not worry about it for our users?

Thanks for any info.