Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Closing down dial-up networking

    I have been using IE5.0 with dial-up networking.

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    I am using Win ME and IE 5.5 and have found a setting in dialup networking properties that seems to do what you want. Go to Dialup Networking and right click on the connection in question. Then left click on properties. Then click on the Dialing tab. There is a setting at the bottom called "Disconnect when connection may not be needed". Try checking that setting and see if it behaves the way you want.
    HTH.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    That doesn't seem to be the answer, Carol.

    I'm using Windows 98, and can't find the setting you mention.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Roanoke area, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,729
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    uncheck it, apply, recheck. that will often reset the option.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    And you need to shut off the browser & I think you may need to reboot. If you Ctrl+Alt+Del after rebooting, you should see "loadwc.exe" listed.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    Thanks, Phil and Mary, but it didn't work. (I rebooted after turning off the setting, and after turning it back on.)

    Any more ideas, anyone?

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    378
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Closing down dial-up networking

    A postscript.

    Someone suggested using a free product called InkSwitch to try and solve a different problem (see the "Dial-up networking keeps trying to start" thread).

    It not only resolved that problem, but fixed this one to!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •