Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Normally, I'd guess, it's more annoying if it reports less memory.

    The computer has 256 MB installed, but some programs report 768 MB.
    Windows XP Control PanelSystem shows 256 MB and so does Task manager (261616 kB). System Information, Total Physical Memory shows 768 MB. The Mainboard module in SiSoftware Sandra shows 256 MB in Bank0/1, Bank2/3 Empty, Bank4/5 512 MB, together 768 MB.

    As I understand it, information about installed memory is reported by BIOS. Is there anything in the BIOS or on the mainboard that is not correct configured?

    Award BIOS v6.00
    K7S6A SiS-745

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    What is physically there?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    I suspect one set of programs is reporting:

    the amount of Real memory (i.e. those physical chip things, the figure in Task Manager => Performance =>Physical Memory, Total or Control Panel => System)

    and the other set is reporting:

    the Virtual memory (i.e. the size of your PAGEFILE.SYS -- Control Panel => Advanced => Performance => Advanced => Virtual Memory).

    Task Manager reports the sum of the Real and Virtual Memory as the Commit Charge, Limit.

    (I'm assuming you're talking XP, for the paths.)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Joe,

    there is 256 MB installed. That is, one memory module of 256 MB DDR PC2100 in one memory slot. The two remaining memory slots are empty.

    Mainboard:
    ECS K7S6A, SiS-745
    BIOS:
    Award v6.00, rev. 1.0f
    Memory:
    Hyundai, 256 MB DDR PC2100

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    John,

    yes, Task managerPhysical Mem. Total report the correct amount of memory (so does Control PanelSystem).

    But, as far as I know virtual memory should be the sum of physical memory and the swap file (pagefile.sys). The typical answer to my question is that I forgot about the swap file and that some programs report virtual memory. As I see it, this does not have anything to do with the swap file. For the moment the swap file has a fixed size of 640 MB on one of the partitions. (Another question could be why the programs report 874 MB swap space ...).

    As I mentioned, Windows XP "System Information" shows on the first page Total Physical Memory 768.00 MB. StartHelp has a tool that shows info. about My computer. Memory capacity (RAM) shows 768 MB.

    Programs, such as Sandra and Aida, report 256 MB physical memory, BUT when they show information about the individual memory slots there is:
    256 MB
    Empty
    512 MB
    (see attachment).
    It could be the capacity, not installed, but why then "empty". On this board there is a max memory module size of 512 MB.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    You've verified that by opening the box?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    320
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Tis a weird one, indeed. What does the bios setup report? In other words when you first boot up, you should get some kind of memory check. You should be able to set the bios from "quick boot" to a full check, which may give you some clues. My guesses/suggestions are to inspect the board and verify that there isn't a 512mb stick in there you didn't know about (!), and if there isn't, pull the 256 stick and place it in say slot 2 and boot and see what happens then. The only other thought I had would be some kind of third party ramdrive software, but it seems like you would know about that too.

    stumped,

    kip

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    As has previously been suggested, the only answer is to take the lid off and look!

    If you REALLY have two memory chips, the probable answer is that they are in the "wrong" slots. Personally I would put the 512 MB in slot 0, with the 256 MB in slot 1, leaving slot 2 empty. My guess would be that the BIOS can't cope with the empty middle slot -- the diagnostics programs actually find the second memory chip, but it hasn't been recognised by the BIOS.

    I'd be fascinated to hear what's actually in the box!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Thanks for your answers so far.

    Well, wouldn't it be great to find that your new PC had been equipped with more memory or a faster CPU than you actually bought. But no, sadly isn't that the case, it's so empty in there [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]

    kip,

    The BIOS setup reports:
    Base mem. 640K
    Ext. mem. 261120K
    Tot. mem. 262144K

    The BIOS has been set to "Quick Power On Self Test" since the day I bought the machine. I had almost forgot about the full memory check (on my old machine with 20 MB it doesn't take so long time to perform...). Well, disabling the quick test doesn't change anything; BIOS report 262144K OK.

    Joe, kip and John,

    Yep, I've opened the box. (Isn't that almost the first thing you do when you get your new machine, maybe it's just me...)

    There is, as I said before, one memory module in slot DDR1 (User's Guide refer to it as DDR1). I don't know so much about different kinds of memory modules, but it has 8 small chips on each side, and it's supposed to be a 256 MB DDR SDRAM. As far as I know, now it doesn't matter in which memory slot you put the memory module.

    This is a fairly new machine, 11 months, and I haven't moved around or installed any new hardware. Even though I'm quite used to working inside a computer, I'd prefer not moving anything in this machine during guarantee period. Of course it might change the result if I move the memory module to slot 2, but why? I mean, if you are going to build a machine and you have only one memory module the obvious place to put it would be the first slot.

    Now days I do not think there are any jumpers on the mainbord related to memory, my board has only jumpers for clearing CMOS, KB wake up, BIOS protection and CPU ratio. The only thing left, as I mentioned in first question, is if there are anything in BIOS setup not correct configured.

    Regards,

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    How disappointing! (You wouldn't be prepared to BUY a 512 MB memory module, just to make it come true?!)

    My suggestion for moving the 256 MB module to slot 1 presumed that you were also moving the (now known to be non-existent) 512 MB module to slot 0. "Start with the biggest module in the lowest slot number, and work up in slot number and down in memory module size" is the method. Isn't always required, but has been on some motherboards in the past. Apparently your slot numbers are 1, 2 and 3 - some firms start the count at 0, some at 1.

    So we're left with the problem of why perfectly good diagnostics programs see a phantom module in slot 2 (err, 3!). Have you tried ringing their technical support chaps / ms-chaps? They may well have met the problem before.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Well, it might seem logical that one would open the box. But many, many people would not. They would just accept what the software says. So, unless you explicitly say you 'll most likely get asked. If this is an OEM machine and only 11 months old it should still be under warranty. Then you could contact the vendor. Otherwise if it is home brew it would seem to be a MOBO problem and you'd need to contact the MOBO vendor support.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Give us a screen shot(s) that shows the different amounts of memory. This may help us see what is happening.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    John,

    Well, buying another 512 MB seems to be a little too much for the moment, even though XP certainly would run even greater (maybe 256 MB, and spend some money on some program). I agree with the suggestion of biggest module in lowest slot number, that's the way I would have done it, required or not.

    I don't know if this could be a result of putting "wrong" memory in the machine, i.e. memory that's not supported? But the machine has been running great. I haven't had any major problem with programs, patches etc. The only thing was that I had to replace the CPU cooler fan after 2 months because it started to sound very loud.

    I will take a look at Aida and Sandra support sites and try to contact them.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Joe,

    That

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Programs report more RAM than there is installed

    Dave,

    OK, any special program that I should take the screen shots from; System information, Task manager etc?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •