New Lounger
    Thanks

Transfer in project (Project 98)

I have an excel file with headings for a project. These headings include start date finish date, duration and task name. I would like to transfer this data into project to form a gannt chart based on the start date and finish dates. I have never done anything like this before so any help will be much appreciated,
    Thanks in advance,
    Rob

Thanks

Re: Transfer in project (Project 98)

The easiest way to do this is using an import map.

To create a map, use an existing project and select File, Save As, Text and then follow along the screens to create a named export map (or use a default).

Revserse the process to load data, that is File, Get exteranal data, import (if I remember correctly), choose the import map and point to the file.

Take a look at the help file for help as I am being very non-specific.

Post back if you need help. The export / import map is just one way to load data this way.
    Regards,

Gary
    (It's been a while!)

New Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Gary
    I opened up a blank project file and went to Save As and selected text. When I click save it brings me to an export format table when I click new map it has a space for the map name, when I go for the default name "Map11" and click ok it says "Map 11 does not map any fields" I typed in the name of the excel file I want to import the info from "Project Times" and I get the same message as before "Project Times does not map any fields" Any help will be appreciated, are there any other ways to import data from excel into project?
    Cheers,
    Rob

New Lounger
    Thanks

Hi
    I managed to get the information to transfer from the excel sheet into project the only problem I have is that when I go to "task mapping" in the define Import/Export map my start and finish times don

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Rob: