Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Hi,

    Have recently had my PC reformatted due to a serious crash....
    After re-installing all my apps, my VBA editor behaves slightly strange, when it comes to the placement of the forms within the VBA editor environment.
    It has moved its default setting for new forms towards bottom right - meaning that I constantly have to scroll substantially, after having added new forms.

    Though this is not critical it is never the less rather irritating.

    Would anyone know where this setting can be change - or where it hides.... (my gut feeling is "somewhere in the registry...")


    Any hints will be highly appreciated.

    Thanks
    ;o)) Henrik
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    I don't know where this setting is stored, but why don't you maximize the windows within the Visual Basic Editor?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    it's already maximized, but I like to use the debugging and navigation tools as well, so they are all visible and docked (props, Explorer, immediate, watches)

    Normally when working with the code, this suits me just fine as I got enough room to navigate within the code (approx. 10x15cm on a "17" screen).
    But when I add a form, I get a lot of white space in the top left and can only see the top of the top left corner of the form, which is rather irritating as I don't have any use for the first whitespace area.

    I've attached a GIF in which you can see how the editor looks - problem is that the form cannot be moved towards top left - I have to scroll down to get it moving...


    ;O)) Henrik
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Ah, it wasn't clear to me at first that you meant the position of the UserForm within the window; I thought that the window was shifted.

    I have never seen this behavior, and I can't find anything about it in the Knowledge Base or in the newsgroups. Can't find the relevant entry in the Registry either. So I am very sorry...

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Wild guess:

    Since forms are controlled by a file called FM20.dll, I would rename that file and then do a detect and repair of Office.
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Thanks for the advice/wild guess.

    Unfortunately it didn't change anything...
    Just thought the XY co-ordinates of the window would be stored somewhere in the registry...( maybe on the .frm key - but I cannot "decode" that key)

    ;o)) Henrik
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Why not just resize the window the form design is showing up in. I've found that the form itself seems to stick to its location, and it looks like the window is actually too big to be completely seen. I've seen this happen often by accident. Try tiling the windows and then resizing the form design window to center the form.
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    In my Office 2000, it seems to live under:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftVBA6.0Common

    There is a Dock key in there that is known to control docking positions. Maybe removing that key (export it first....) may convince the VBE to reconsider its moves <g> ?
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by HansV on 30-Jul-03 16:22. Reduced huge screenshot in size - it caused horizontal scrolling in most resolutions.)</P>Resize how ??

    I need the form moved towards top left in its window, but top and left edges are somehow locked at their current positions and this goes for all my forms, not just a single one.

    Further, when working with large forms, I often have to use another PC as the one with this problem doesn't provide a horizontal scroll bar, meaning that I sometimes not even can get a hold of the bottom right corner of the form.

    When you look at the dots on the edges of the form - you'll see that top and left are filled (blocked), while right and bottom are hollow (resizable).
    But since I can't get hold of the hollow ones due to the missing horizontal scroll bar, this knowledge isn't of much use.

    ....and as earlier mentioned I've got a nasty feeling that this is triggered by the regEdit and some odd key
    (I'll give Jan KP's latest answer a go in just a sec.)


    ;o)) Henrik
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    I can't find a way to mess my screen up as bad as yours, but I wonder whether it might do any good to close all the little windows, maximize the UserForm window, and re-dock the others?

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Cascade the windows, which will change the size and make the edges of the window visible so you can tweak the position of the form as well.
    Charlotte

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    I managed to get mine into a similar state but cascading the windows got me back in shape. The design window where forms and code appear actually seems to be behind the docked windows, which causes all sorts of wierdness.
    Charlotte

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    Thanks Hans for the resizing (should have done that myself, apologies)

    Jscher; tried your tip, did no good (see picture...)

    Charlotte; the "normal" windows view tools do no good - neither cascading, tiling...(I have tried them all in many ways)
    Problem is that the form is locked with it's X,Y co-ordinates within the form window itself, not just the VBE. (see attached picture for full details)

    With the danger of repeating myself here. The core of the problem seems to be that the X,Y co-ordinates for the placement of the form within the form window somehow has been changed and that even a complete reformatting of the disk doesn't override this setting. Therefore my gut feeling on this is that it must be a setting stored somewhere "deep down" and the most likely place to me - is the registry - question is then; in what key is this stored ??


    Thanks for the many good suggestions - please keep them coming, I'll try them all....

    ;o)) Henrik
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Weert, Limburg, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,812
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    What happens if you log on as a different user?
    Jan Karel Pieterse
    Microsoft Excel MVP, WMVP
    www.jkp-ads.com
    Professional Office Developers Association

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    347
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Form placement in VBA editor (WinNT 4.0. SP6, O2k / VB6.0)

    The problem persists - even when logged on as a different user.
    Contrary if I log on with my account on another PC the problem disappears.
    - so it has to be related to this specific computer and its environment

    Right now I think I'm on to something....
    I'm running a dual screen with Word in One monitor and the VBE in another.

    It's using a matrox millenium G200 card. When I change my settings to a single screen, the positioning changes. Further when I change the display size multiple times in to all sorts of odd sizes the X,Y co-ordinates change.... and now I'm experimenting to see if I can land at a setting in the top left corner at the same time as I'm running in dual mode....
    Bests,
    RD


    PS: Wish there were a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence. There's a knob called "brightness," but that doesn't work

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •