Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    We have a mix of A2K and A97 machines here (don't get me started on the IT department - but with several thousand desks to administer, I guess I have to cut them some slack <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>). I have created a small database in A2K, and saved it as an A97 file (using the "convert to prior version" database tool). When an A97 user tries to open a particular form in the database, they get the following message:
    <font color=blue>
    Microsoft Access can't open the form "frmConnections"

    It contains data that Microsoft Access doesn't recognize.
    Recreate the form or, if you maintain backup copies of your database, retrieve a copy of the form
    </font color=blue>

    Has anyone else run into that (or similar) problem? How was it resolved? Thanks for any insight!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    Does you form contain any non-native controls such as Calendar, TreeView, or other ActiveX controls? They don't take kindly to migration to another platform, whtether it be another Windows version or another Access version.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    Hi Hans - there are no external controls on the form - just Access labels, textboxes (mostly) and a couple of dropdowns and some subform controls with similar stuff in them. In the meantime, it occurred to me that I am developing the database on a machine with Office 2K installed (and references set for XL 2K and Word 2K) but it will have to run on machines with Office 97 installed.

    That raises another problem, since I don't have access (sorry) to a machine with O97 - can I reset those library references in code? On opening can the database test for missing references and re-create them? I <font color=red>think </font color=red> that all the machines will be running Win 2K pro (except for the development machine - my Win 98 laptop). I am sure that all the libraries are in standard locations, since the IT guys keep a (very) tight lid on who can install software and how it is configured (in general, "no one but network services" and "exactly the same way as the last 3,000 desktops, thank-you" respectively, in case anyone dares to contemplate taking matters into their own hands).

    Thanks for youir help!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    Charlotte recently asked a question about resolving broken references. The discussion in the thread starting at <post#=275081>post 275081</post#> may be useful.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    A2k will convert the file to 97 format, but most of the wizard-generated code, especially for switchboards, won't work in 97. You really need to open it in 97 and compile it there to make sure you find all the things that work in 2000 but not in 97. Failing that, you need to remove the ADO reference and set one for DAO, go through and change any wizard generated code to only use constants, objects and functions available in 97, and generally hand launder the database. References actually come pretty far down the list in this process, except for the switch between ADO and DAO. ADO actually works in 97, but you won't find it installed on most O97 machines, or at least not a version that is useful, so replace any ADO code with DAO, which means changing methods and properties that are different between the two object models. You also have to lose any code references to things like CurrentProject or AccessObject, neither of which exist in 97.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    Well - in a way, that is encouraging <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I didn't use any wizards - and I don't think I used any objects or functions unique to A2K. I knew that the database was going to be converted back to A97 format so all the database objects were DAO and the reference was set appropriately. If wurst comes to sausage I will just have to open it up on an A97 machine and see that it works. The great advantage of this highly controlled environment is that machines with the same purported configuration generally do have the same actual configuration, so if it works on one it will work on all (most of the time <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>).

    Thank you both for your suggestions.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    There are still objects in 2000 like CurrentProject, which are valid regardless of the object model selected but don't exist in Access 97. Just using DAO code isn't a guarantee it will run in 97 unless you are *very* careful. Did you make sure to set the DAO reference in the database to DAO 3.51? Little things like constants that don't exist in 97 or built-in functions like Split and Replace will bite you too. You're going to have to do some investigation in Access 97, not 2000, since 2000 will look at the database through the filter of its own settings.

    Um, you didn't have a Data Access Page in there anywhere did you? Or a PivotTable on a form?
    Charlotte

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: A2K saved as A97 - Can't open Form (A2K / A97)

    Hi Charlotte - no, fortunately, I didn't have any data access pages or pivot tables in the database. You are right, though - the only true solution is to open the file under A97 and fix what needs to be fixed. I was just pleased that it didn't mean going back in and changing ADOs to DAOs, as well as resetting the references. Unfortunately, the best guy to help in the 'back-conversion' has A2K and A97 installed on his machine, so the DAO 3.6 reference still works (he I can instruct by phone - the other users will probably need a personal visit).

    Thanks again,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •