cgschlangen

Combine multiple form fields into one db field...

Greetings all -
    I'm building an ASP form that users will use to post data to a database before it get sent off to the National Weather Service... For ease of use I created a bunch of drop town tables with different options for the users... hence where NWS wants "CYF02" - the users can select Cloudy from one drop down box, Foggy from another, and 02 Miles of Visibility from another - now from there - I want to be able to include the 3 selections from the drop down box and merge them into one field... There are several occasions throughout the form where I have need of this - and I'm absolutely stumped - it seems like it should be easy to me... but I'm fairly new to ASP and am not quite sure how to make it work.... Here's the code I'm using...

<%
    Dim conn

set conn=Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    conn.Provider="Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
    conn.Open(Server.Mappath("weather.mdb"))
    conn.Execute("insert into Weather (ID, WXVSB, WIND, WAVE, SEA, AIR, PRESSURE, REMARKS, STATION) VALUES (" _
    & Request.Form("id") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("wx") + Request.Form("add") + Request.Form("vis") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("wind") + Request.Form("speed") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("wave") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("sea") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("air") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("pressure") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("plus") + Request.Form("inches") & ", " _
    & Request.Form("station") & ")")
    conn.Close
    Set conn = Nothing
    %>

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Dan

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Combine multiple form fields into one db field...

Hi Dan,

There are several ways to accomplish this and it looks like you're very close.

I'm not familiar with whic fields need to be concatenated, but I would suggest replacing your plus (+) with ampersand (&), like this:

Request.Form("wx") & Request.Form("add") & Request.Form("vis")