Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    Hi guys ,Gals,never had this this problem before.
    5 minuets after first boot in the morning,my computer dials up my isp.Simple as that.Started about July 26th or 27th.Thought it might be "Mcafee" because that was the last Update(download) I did around the time this started.Have checked my "StartUp Folder",Windows>Startup,nothing in there,no programs in "Task Scheduler" causing it.Have "Ad aware6.0" and have cleaned out all spy ware,no Viruses,have scanned entire computer. Have dumped cookies.Restored back to before this started, no help there.
    I'm running out of places and things I can do to keep my computer from on it's own dialing out to my IsP.
    Any one with an idea, please let me know.
    I know how to use IE6 Tools>connections and turn off Autodial up, but thats not a fix.
    I'd like to know how to find the culprit.(the space ship) causing my computer to dial up on it's own.
    Tnx for any help,maybe someone else has had this happen and fixed it.Running 56k modem,Me O/S,IE6 sp1 Browser

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    It can be Automatic Updates service. If you run Win 2000 or XP, press Windows key and Pause/Break key on your keyboard simultaneously, then click Automatic Updates tab.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    I remember a program I had running a year or so ago, that used a spaceship as it's SYSTRAY icon. The function of the software (can't remember the name of it) was to make a connection to an external server, allowing an automatic update to a dynamically referenced IP for web hosting.

    I don't explain things too well, do I?

    Um... Here's how I was using it.

    I have a broadband connection, with PPPoE access. Upon bootup, I was given a dynamic IP Address. This "spaceship" program "called home" with my dynamic IP address, allowing others who knew chris.fancydnsname.com, to connect to my webserver.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    Hi Jim

    Process Explorer, a free download from Sysinternals, should tell you what processes are active in real time. Run Process Explorer as soon as you boot up, expand the window to be able to view all the processes, then just wait to see which process activity corresponds to the dialup.

    There are other utilities that will do the same thing and some will log the activity for later review, but I can't remember any titles right now.

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    Thanks Ken for the great info,I think I'll download the program.
    The item dialing up is "Mcafee ", that I am sure of. I am one of it's $39.00 year subscribers to its "Virus Scan and Security center programs.I chatted with them on line to see if there was any way of removing the "Task Scheduler" that does the dialing.They recommended I go to "Never dial a Connection" in Internet Explorer.
    Great fix, Ha!
    But I'll keep your program in mind.Tnx again for the input, Jim Lombard

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    Hi Jim

    Since you know what you're looking for, download and run Mike Lin's FREE Startup Control Panel.
    Look under the 'Services' tab for your McAfee application........maybe check all tabs. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Uncheck anything you don't want to run at startup...be careful, only uncheck the apps you are sure of !

    McAfee may check and reset itself to run at startup, if so........ <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cumberland, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    880
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    In case you haven'g solved your problem, the current PC World reviews http://www.winpatrol.com/ as a "freebie that alerts you whenever a program attempts to add itself to your PC's startup group or Registry. The utillity guards every place where bad guys might want to stick a Trojan horse or automatic-dialing program . . . ." (Haven't used it, though)

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 56K modem automatically dial up internet .

    Thanks alot , appreciate the input. I look the program up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •