Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Hi,

    Have any of you used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info on the hardware, software & licenses and manage this info?

    If so, pls. can you share any tips, woes or wonders that you came across?

    Thanks,

    m.q.

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Best I can do is SMS 1.2, where we have avoided using this particular aspect of SMS, because it is unreliable and incomplete. We're looking for/at a dedicated "computer audit" package, which is presumably your requirement, too?
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Yes.
    Thought we'd use what we already have to save money.

    Wanted to "autodetect" as much as poss. to minimize the manual part.

    m.q.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Take a look at aida. It is <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> and collects an amazing amount of information.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Joe

    i don't think that's what the OP actually wants. If he's like me he wants to sit at his workstation and collect all the hardware information from hundreds or thousands of PCs, like CPU speed, memory size, hard disk size, partitioning information, drive fullness, monitor manufactrurer and model, NIC, and so on, operating system information, service pack and hotfix level, and fairly high level software installed information, like Office components, service releases/packs/hotfixes, and every other "system" or "product" that has been installed, together with potentially unlicenced software with EXE files looked up in a massive database which maps the EXEs and DLLs against the package and version. Then tabulate the whole thing and flag exceptions...

    AIDA, unless I understand it wrongly, gives you huge amounts of information (much of it far too detailed for what is needed here) about a single machine, and has no remote access ability.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    John,
    Not true. You can make it part of a network logon script. So, when a machine is booted the machine inventory is taken and stored in a network folder in one of several formats. Then can start Aida and drag and drop the networked files. Voila, you can see any machine on your network that you wish.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Thanks guys.
    Can I use Aida from one PC to audit the LAN?

    Or must I install it manually on every PC. I am looking for an "autodetect" facility where it will scan all PCs on network & document them but from a SINGLE location centrally.

    Thanks

    m.q.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    You do not have to install it on every PC. You install it on a server. Then have the scan be part of a script run when a user does a network logon. You set how often the machine is actually scanned. There is fairly clear directions with the software. The user on the PC sees nothing. All the information about each PC is stored on the network. Several options are available for the method used to store each PCs data.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Used SMS2.0 to collect Asset Info?

    Thanks JP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •